Page 1 of 1

PPPoE for 1Gbps clients

Posted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:25 pm
by azlan
Hi Guru,

I tried to configure PPPoE server to provide 1Gbps to our client. However, speedtest for 1 connected client only shows 500Mbps-600Mbps if clent connect via PPPoE. If client connect directly without PPPoE via static IP, we can achieve 900+Mbps. Our upstream is 10Gbps.

We are using CCR1009 with CPU load is less than 5% on each core.

Please help.

/azlan/
/interface vlan
add comment="To OLT" interface=sfp-sfpplus1 name=\
    "VLAN312 - BB" vlan-id=312

/ppp profile
add dns-server=8.8.8.8 local-address=10.0.0.1 name=BB_1G1G_PubSta \
    only-one=yes rate-limit=1000m/1000m

/interface pppoe-server server
add default-profile=BB_1G1G_PubSta interface="VLAN312 - BB" \
    max-mru=1492 max-mtu=1492 one-session-per-host=yes service-name=\
    VLAN312-BB

/ip firewall address-list
add address=10.0.0.0/24 list=WHITELIST
add address=192.168.88.0/24 list=WHITELIST

/ip firewall filter
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward connection-state=\
    established,related
add action=accept chain=forward connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=input src-address-list=WHITELIST
add action=accept chain=output src-address-list=WHITELIST
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=123 protocol=udp
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=123 protocol=tcp
add action=drop chain=input dst-port=8291,80 protocol=tcp src-address-list=\
    !WHITELIST

/ip firewall nat
add action=src-nat chain=srcnat src-address=100.64.1.0/24 to-addresses=\
    10.0.0.100
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=100.64.1.0/24 to-addresses=\
    10.0.0.100

/ppp secret
add local-address=103.118.22.67 name=user1 password=abc123 \
    profile=BB_1G1G_PubSta remote-address=10.0.0.7 service=pppoe

Re: PPPoE for 1Gbps clients

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:15 pm
by zakynthoswifi
Try to change your mtu values.
For this type of clients personally I don't connect them via pppoe but with static ip address given via my radius server to limit each one of them and for expiration purposes.

Re: PPPoE for 1Gbps clients

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:28 pm
by mducharme
Your throughput may be impacted by out of order packets due to fragmentation. If you have at least 1508 layer 2 MTU between your clients and the server, you can change MTU and MRU to 1500 on both sides. Then PPPoE should not theoretically be any more overhead than simply adding a VLAN tag and I would expect you to be able to get full 1Gbps.