Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
psyclipse
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:24 am

sql remote behind firewall

Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:31 am

Please help how to configure with NAT setup this diagram... please...
MSSQL server
sql5014.site4now.net
208.118.63.129
port 1433

Mikrotik Firewall /NAT
210.4.103.116
port 80
192.168.1.50


PC
192.168.1.41
Message: unable to remote desktop from sql5014.site4now.net
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3622
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: sql remote behind firewall

Fri Jan 10, 2020 8:51 am

Which remote desktop client are you using? Microsoft RDP client, VNC, ...?
On which host are you running the remote desktop client? PC?
BR,
Metod
 
psyclipse
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:24 am

Re: sql remote behind firewall

Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:31 am

We are using Visual Studio 2013.... remoting sqlserver....
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3622
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: sql remote behind firewall

Sat Jan 11, 2020 12:32 pm

I still don't get it ... so you have LAN with a PC on which you're running VS2013. That LAN has a RB as gateway/firewall (with NAT for port 80 which doesn't seem to me as relevant in this particular scenario) ... and thee's a MSSQL server somewhere on the internet accepting connections on port 1433?

If my understanding is right and the RB config is more or less default (allowing any kind of LAN-to-WAN connections), then it should work as is if remote side doesn't block connections ...
BR,
Metod
 
psyclipse
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:24 am

Re: sql remote behind firewall

Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:30 am

Newbie here..... sorry for that...... our LAN is filtered.... and allow only port 80 at the moment.... as we follow the NAT configuration.... and successfully it works....

and here comes our project....online website.... unfortunately my PC can't access the sql server outside our network... but local sqlservers.....within our network...... it allows....

in view of this..... we do direct.... connection... meaning.... no filtered...... directly or.... shall I say... i used the registered address.... and it works..... to remote the outside sqlserver.....

thats our problem.... we dont know how to configure.... our Mikrotik Router to allow remote connection from Local PC inside to outside SQlServer which has open port of 1433....

i wonder why.... may be it be coz were allowed to use only for 80.... within our LAN?!?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests