Community discussions

MikroTik App

jmnicolas
just joined
Topic Author

Multiple VLAN, multiple SSID and one trunk with CISCO

Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:14 am

Hello,
I'm a newbie who don't understand how to implement VLAN on mikrotik's products.
Router : HEX POE
Ap : CAP AC
Switch : CISCO 2960
This is what I want to make :
home network.PNG
Cisco is ready but I'm not able to setup hex end cap.
Can you help me pls ?

Thx you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Multiple VLAN, multiple SSID and one trunk with CISCO

Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:17 pm

Ok as i see from your Network topology HEX will be the router...
Here is a nice article viewtopic.php?f=13&t=143620 that talks about VLANs and how you can configure them.
The first example Router - Switch is enough so that you understand what you can do, it is totally simple...

However, HEX POE does not support Bridge Hardware offload allong with VLANs, only CRS3xx series do, so am not sure if it would be best to follow the VLAN switching for devices with built in switch chip https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... witch_chip instead of the Bridge VLAN Filtering as described in the above article....

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:39 pm

However, HEX POE does not support Bridge Hardware offload allong with VLANs,

Given that OP's got a decent switch (the Cisco), I'd recomend to use hEX only as a router ... i.e. connect the wifi AP to Cisco instead to hEX. And in this scenario HW offload doesn't play any role as all traffic is routed and hence handled by CPU anyway.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:39 pm

I would not use vlan1, use a different number...........

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:27 pm

I'd recomend to use hEX only as a router
If you had to create a trunk port between Cisco and Mikrotik, as the initial plan of the OP, would you go with Bridge VLAN Filtering or Switch VLAN filtering ?