Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
rmajer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:31 am

LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:00 am

So, I made a terrible configuration mistake on my LtAP mini LTE today that locked me out of the device. So I decided to do a factory reset and simply start over. But I'm having trouble getting the LtAP to do just that. So I looked up the manual and found the instructions there (hold reset button during boot for five seconds until LED light starts flashing to reset RouterOS config).

Which led is supposed to flash? Or is it a combination of the 4 leds that I have to look out for? And at what point exactly am I supposed to press the reset button? Because the manual also mentions that it will load the RouterBoot-loader when reset is pressed before power on. I guess I just get the timing wrong and hold the reset key at the wrong time to make it work.

I tried holding the reset key before power up, pressing (and holding) it just after power on, but to no avail.

On a different note: can the RS-232 port on the device be used to access a terminal to alter the device's configuration (assuming GPS isn't enabled on serial0 - which I didn't (I hope))?

Sorry for this probably noobish question, but I never had problems doing factory resets on other Mikrotik devices before (have a total of 5 in use aside from the LtAP mini). Especially in the beginning of my Mikrotik days, I locked myself out of these devices quite often - but always had them up and running again in minutes. I'm really at a loss here at this point.

I really hope someone can point me in the right direction. If this particular question was asked before (that I missed during my quick forum search before posting here), please let me know.

Thanks in advance for any advice and have a nice day!
 
User avatar
mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 765
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

Re: LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:18 pm

Welcome to the club! :-)
I too somehow just managed to lock myself out while configuring the firewall! :-)
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1367
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:14 am

So, ... Thanks in advance for any advice and have a nice day!
https://mikrotik.com/product/ltap_mini#fndtn-downloads > Quick Guide
Buttons and jumpers
Reset button
• Hold this button during boot time until LED light starts flashing, release the button to reset RouterOS
configuration (total 5 seconds).


Means, Power off device. > Press the proper button and still pressing it do a power on. Still pressing until LED's start on, when you see LED works then lease button.

Other procedure is with NetInstall, but pressing button must be until LED will off, then this will be works.

PS. If you do mistake then you should do in WinBox > System > Reset Configuration
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL | Buy me a caffe
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1367
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:17 am

Welcome to the club! :-)
I too somehow just managed to lock myself out while configuring the firewall! :-)
You should create own post :).
You should now use Layer2 access via WinBox > Neighbors tab .... or use RoMON... or use Mac-Telnet .... all that because Firewall filters Layer3, not L2 :).
Even if you disable MNDP at input chain then still you can grab MAC from label at device and do magic.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL | Buy me a caffe
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
 
User avatar
mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 765
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

Re: LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Thu Apr 30, 2020 2:51 am

Welcome to the club! :-)
I too somehow just managed to lock myself out while configuring the firewall! :-)
You should create own post :).
You should now use Layer2 access via WinBox > Neighbors tab .... or use RoMON... or use Mac-Telnet .... all that because Firewall filters Layer3, not L2 :).
Even if you disable MNDP at input chain then still you can grab MAC from label at device and do magic.
I solved it by using the serial console (RS232-to-RJ45 adapter). Details I had posted here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=160555#p789538
 
User avatar
mudhoney
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:36 am
Location: Croatia

Re: LtAP mini LTE factory reset

Sun Feb 07, 2021 2:06 pm

Somehow managed to factory reset mine with two second button hold.
But I gotta say, this is pretty much bogus. I have multiple Mikrotiks of which some of them are not even resettable via this method.

Acts like sometimes it goes trough, sometimes it does not.
But yea, 2 second hold upon power on did it for me.
The Dude abides.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 60 guests