Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
larsac
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:52 pm

Connection between SFP / SFP+

Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:55 pm

Hello,

can I somehow establish a connection between a router with an SFP port (e.g. Hex PoE or RB3011UiAS-RM) and an SFP+ port on a switch (e.g. CRS326-24G-2S+RM or CRS328-24P-4S+RM) ?

Lars
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:18 pm

Depends on what type your SFP+ is. Copper ones are often multi-rate and will do 1G. Optics not so much. Putting an SFP in your switch is probably the easiest.
 
larsac
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:52 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Fri May 01, 2020 9:35 am

So an SFP module will work in the SFP+ cage of the above mentioned switch?

Lars
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Fri May 01, 2020 11:14 am

Yes, they will. You can look at the SFP compatibility list to be sure.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7185
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Fri May 01, 2020 11:42 am

And when it is a local connection you can consider a DAC cable, but also after checking compatibility. I think with a RB3011 there are problems with that.
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Fri May 01, 2020 11:48 am

4011s too (they don't support passive DACs)
 
larsac
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:52 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Fri May 01, 2020 11:55 am

Great, thanks for answers, these help a lot!

Lars
 
bdouse
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 8:45 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Wed May 27, 2020 9:12 pm

Can a CRS309 switch be connected to a CRS125 via the SFP+ and SFP ports, respectively, using a Cable Matters 10GBASE-CU DAC Twinax cable? I tried it myself, but couldn't get it to work. I was able to set the CRS309 SFP+ port's link speed to 1GB, which got me some link lights, transmit activity, and "link up" status. But, nothing on the receive side at all. I got nothing on the CRS125 switch at all. No link lights on the SFP port and a "no link" status in the web interface. I contacted the Cable Matter Rep and he said that it should work, but that I should check with Microtik to confirm the compatibility of these two switches connecting together like that. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 
antikurjers
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Wed Dec 30, 2020 8:50 pm

Yo! I tried to connect SFP (RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN) to SFP+(CRS305-1G-4S-IN) with EDGE 10G-SFP-300-MT SFP+ transceiver. I see it in RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN but the connection does not work.
Isn't compatible?
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member
Member
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Mon Jan 04, 2021 9:05 am

SFP+ module in SFP cage (RB2011) won't work. SFP module in SFP+ cage should.
---
Karlis
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7185
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Connection between SFP / SFP+

Mon Jan 04, 2021 10:29 am

Yes, you need to use SFP materials. Not SFP+ in SFP mode, I think not even that would work.
And also not a SFP module at one end connected via fiber to an SFP+ module at the other end, that likely also won't work.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 75 guests