Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
archerious
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:50 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Idea for 2 routers and avoiding Double NAT while running srcnat on second router?

Fri May 01, 2020 7:00 am

I have a RB4011 and it works well on AT&T Fiber but I've started working from home and encountered some slow speeds on it that I put on my last thread, I am temporarily using my Ubiquiti ER4 and have a solid 940/942.

After thinking it over and my employer assigning to work at home permanently, I think CCR2004 would be worth a try so I preordered one.

My question goes, I know normally for two routers to avoid double nat a static route would be used like:

RB4011/ER4 10.1.1.0/24 and it would be running srnat
CCR2004 10.10.10.0/24 but assigned 10.1.1.2

Lastly:
destination=10.10.10.0/24 gateway=10.1.1.2

My question comes to NAT, is it possible to run NAT on only CCR2004 in this scenario, while leaving RB4011 for 802.1x since it works well with AT&T's VLAN0 which pretty much everyone can't get the CCR1009 to work with AT&T Fiber on 802.1x due to VLAN0 fallback being needed (at least that's what I've gathered).

Furthermore if the RB4011 is just fastpathing it will easily handle 940/940, I know from testing that before.
RB4011 Former: CCR2004, hEX (RB750Gr3), ER4
Aruba 2930F, CSS326, CRS309, CRS112-PoE Former: Ubiquiti XG-16 & ES-10X
Wireless Wire
AT&T Fiber 1000/1000
http://tlopez.cc/images/hex_is_a_beast.PNG
http://tlopez.cc/images/ccr2004_speedtest.png
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2303
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Idea for 2 routers and avoiding Double NAT while running srcnat on second router?

Sat May 02, 2020 5:05 pm

Yes you can remove the NAT from the 4011, but then you will have to create a route on your ISPs Modem-Router for the RB's 4011 Local Subnet...
 
User avatar
archerious
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:50 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Idea for 2 routers and avoiding Double NAT while running srcnat on second router?

Sat May 02, 2020 8:44 pm

Yes you can remove the NAT from the 4011, but then you will have to create a route on your ISPs Modem-Router for the RB's 4011 Local Subnet...
That's a problem since I don't use a isp modem. I'm on fiber and bypassing att's shit via the dot.1x client.
RB4011 Former: CCR2004, hEX (RB750Gr3), ER4
Aruba 2930F, CSS326, CRS309, CRS112-PoE Former: Ubiquiti XG-16 & ES-10X
Wireless Wire
AT&T Fiber 1000/1000
http://tlopez.cc/images/hex_is_a_beast.PNG
http://tlopez.cc/images/ccr2004_speedtest.png

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aboiles, gfhahsvhj, RobSav and 40 guests