Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
orvis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Mon May 11, 2020 6:19 pm

Hi all,

Don't know what happened but I've lost my internet connection, even when I try to update on "check for updates" the message is "could not resolve DNS name".

I didn't changed anything on my pc or at the TIK, but after that I've already tried to set same DNS on Tik and at the computer, still don't success.



[admin@MikroTik] > ip route print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 ADC 192.168.88.0/24 192.168.88.1 ether1 0


[admin@MikroTik] > ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK INTERFACE
0 ;;; defconf
192.168.88.1/24 192.168.88.0 ether1


[admin@MikroTik] > interface print
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave
# NAME TYPE ACTUAL-MTU L2MTU MAX-L2MTU MAC-ADDRESS
0 R ether1 ether 1500 1598 2028 C4:AD:34:A2:CE:24
1 lte1 lte 1500 AC:50:43:1A:EE:FD


[admin@MikroTik] > ip dns print
servers: 8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
dynamic-servers:
allow-remote-requests: yes
max-udp-packet-size: 4096
query-server-timeout: 2s
query-total-timeout: 10s
max-concurrent-queries: 100
max-concurrent-tcp-sessions: 20
cache-size: 2048KiB
cache-max-ttl: 1w
cache-used: 23KiB

[admin@MikroTik] > ping 8.8.8.8
SEQ HOST SIZE TTL TIME STATUS
0 no route to host

[admin@MikroTik] > ping www.google.com
invalid value for argument address:
invalid value of mac-address, mac address required
invalid value for argument ipv6-address
while resolving ip-address: could not get answer from dns server
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4261
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Mon May 11, 2020 6:46 pm

Just for giggles, on the subnet where this is occurring,
go to the ip dhcp server networks settings and replace the DNS server from 192.168.88.1 for example to 8.8.8.8
and see if you get connected.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 12, 2020 12:41 am

Looks like you are not getting an IP Address on LTE. On your Quick Set page it is empty. And when you pinged 8.8.8.8, which you don’t need DNS to ping IP, it returned “ no route to host”.
 
orvis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 19, 2020 4:36 pm

Looks like you are not getting an IP Address on LTE. On your Quick Set page it is empty. And when you pinged 8.8.8.8, which you don’t need DNS to ping IP, it returned “ no route to host”.
You right, I was trying with different SIM cards and forgot about the APN, but as you can see now, It doesn't works with IP too...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
orvis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 19, 2020 4:49 pm

Looks like you are not getting an IP Address on LTE. On your Quick Set page it is empty. And when you pinged 8.8.8.8, which you don’t need DNS to ping IP, it returned “ no route to host”.
This was because the APN xD my bad, but now and already changed what you said about the 8.8.8.8 still doesn't work and when I try to ping...

[admin@MikroTik] > ping 8.8.8.8
SEQ HOST SIZE TTL TIME STATUS
0 8.8.8.8 timeout
1 8.8.8.8 timeout
2 8.8.8.8 timeout
3 8.8.8.8 timeout
sent=4 received=0 packet-loss=100%
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 19, 2020 5:53 pm

/export hide-sensitive file=myconfig
Download myconfig.rsc from Files and edit with your favorite txt editor. Post content.
 
orvis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 19, 2020 7:25 pm

/export hide-sensitive file=myconfig
Download myconfig.rsc from Files and edit with your favorite txt editor. Post content.
# model = RBLHGR
# serial number = B7350B0AC1B9
/interface lte
set [ find ] mac-address=AC:50:43:1A:EE:FD name=lte1
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=ether1 name=defconf
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=lte1 list=WAN
add list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether1 network=\
192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Lisbon
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Tue May 19, 2020 7:45 pm

I don’t see a dhcp client.
/ip dhcp-client add interface=lte
The only other odd thing is a blank interface-list-member.
 
orvis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Thu May 21, 2020 3:27 pm

I don’t see a dhcp client.
/ip dhcp-client add interface=lte
The only other odd thing is a blank interface-list-member.
Well just turn it on the TIK and now It's working....WTF? Didn't change anything on config or position of the tik....
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Internet stop working / DNS Issue

Thu May 21, 2020 6:10 pm

It was most likely the use of Quickset after you had already made changes. Quickset relies on basic scripts to make the changes and if you make changes outside of Quickset, it has know way allowing for your changes. And there are other instances of Quickset just being broke. If can avoid it using it, do so.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], solar77 and 33 guests