Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Splitting up ports

Mon May 18, 2020 5:58 pm

I saw some other products where one is limited in how many ports may be used if you break out a lot of them.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4261
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Splitting up ports

Mon May 18, 2020 7:11 pm

Please please, can we start a poll for the most useless questions ever asked......??

Or do we just provide equally adept answers instead??

I have never tried to split a port, wondering if I need an axe, a sharp screwdriver, do I need to melt it first with a blowtorch.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Mon May 18, 2020 7:22 pm

If you buy one of the new CRS you may want to split the Q.

Maybe in the future it will be possible to break out an RJ45 port into SPE.
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 2:40 am

You will get disabled ports in some of those other brand products not only by breaking out many.

Splitting a port in 4 might disable another one (OK to split in 2).
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4261
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 2:59 am

Multiple personality disorder, or just like talking to yourself??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 4:39 pm

SPE, single pair ethernet, seem interesting but I'd expect some sort of converter to do the job. When it connected to the Mikrotik, it would just like adding a L2 switch to a Mikrotik ethernet port?
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 4:55 pm

Why a converter at the switch if there's already RJ45 cabling in place? Just split the pairs at the transceiver and fan out at the other end.

Also, two single pair ports take as much space as one RJ45, so they are half as efficient (there are also 4-pair connectors but it may be pointless to use something other than RJ45 sometimes).
Last edited by vortex on Tue May 19, 2020 6:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 5:13 pm

who said this converter will be in the server room?

SPE is new to me, just watched few page and video. it seems to be the technology for industrial IoT use. no point for me to guess what should and what would
I'd be interested to know how you managed to split a Ethernet connection and how the performance, reliability is etc.
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 5:28 pm

If you have one RJ45 cable to each room in a hotel, for example, you could support 4 directly connected devices in each by splitting the pairs upstream (you would need an SPE to Base-T dongle at each piece of gear in the room).

Maybe you also have suites with more than 4 devices, in this case you would keep Base-T to reach the room and install a switch there.

A configurable switch for upstream use would be a flexible product.
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 6:45 pm

en..in this scenario I would use a wsAP ac lite, or a gigabit port version when it comes
Lets say for some reason I do need to connect 4 devices over SFP, I'd get 4 x SPE to Base-T dongles. is it the BASE-T side goes to the device and the SPE side goes to one pair of UTP / STP cable that leads to the Mikrotik? if this is the case, how would the ethernet port on the Mikrotik know what to do with these SPE pairs? it would expect Pin 1, 2,3,6 with data and maybe the other 4 with power.

if the Base-T side goes to the mikrotik, you will need 4 port, that's probably not the case as you mentioned port splitting.
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Tue May 19, 2020 7:06 pm

Chips would have to be made that support configuring a port as 1x Base-T or 4x Base-T1.

On products from some other brands you have to execute a command to configure a Q port as 1x, 2x, or 4x.

Not everybody wants to use WiFi for everything.
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Wed May 20, 2020 1:29 am

I saw a 100Base-T1 PHY that can reach 300m over 5e (the standard specifies 15m).

It actually also has some T and TX modes.

It has some proprietary auto negotiation for single pair (as well as even greater distance modes).

IEEE is looking at extending 1000Base-T1 and 100Base-T1 to 100 meters for non-automotive.
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: jo.overland at gmail.com

Re: Splitting up ports

Wed May 20, 2020 11:30 am

In my work splitting an Ethernet cable to get more separate lines is a no go.
Add a new cable if you need more lines.
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router(s)

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Wed May 20, 2020 1:24 pm

The point is that recabling can sometimes be a no go and you might also want to avoid additional switches.
 
vortex
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1095
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Splitting up ports

Wed May 20, 2020 8:49 pm

I saw some proprietary switches with RJ11 or RJ21 ports and corresponding RJ11 to RJ45 converters.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: roe1974, ViditYadav and 96 guests