Community discussions

MikroTik App

HellsEmissary
just joined
Topic Author

Failover Outbound Routing

Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:00 pm

I would like to preface my question, by saying that I know my way around consumer grade networking gear, but I am a complete beginner at enterprise grade network gear. The setup that I am planning on doing is a failover configuration with two different internet connections. The primary will be a gigabit fiber connection (AT&T fiber), and the secondary connection will be a much slower coax connection (Comcast Xfinity). My issue is that if I use the AT&T fiber connection, as my primary connection. Xfinity TV's online streaming service does not recognize that I am on my home network; therefore, I am only able to access a fraction of the content on the service. Is there a way, in a failover setup, to automatically route all outbound network traffic, whose destination is Comcast's URL, to the secondary connection?

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Failover Outbound Routing

Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:32 pm

Yes, it is possible to
a. have a primary and secondary wan connections.
For example I have bell 1gig and cable 100/20 backup service
My email accounts all go to the secondary.

b. Yes it is very possible to segment outbound traffic to go out a specific wan.

HellsEmissary
just joined
Topic Author

Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:35 pm

I have successfully setup the dual WAN connections, but I am having trouble setting up the routing/firewall rules to get Xfinity Stream to detect that I am on my local network. The problem that I am having is that Xfinity seems to be using large variations in possible IP address for their platform, and I am only seeing ways to route traffic via IP addresses. As opposed to using the Xfinity stream URL.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:29 pm

Unfortunately I have no ideas what infinity stream is, diagrams and your config would help.

/export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish

HellsEmissary
just joined
Topic Author