Community discussions

MikroTik App

maxslug
Topic Author

AT&T FTTH, VLANs, CapsMAN Full Config (RouterOS 7 Updated)

Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:05 am

EDIT: 2024-04-13 - Upgrade to RouterOS 7.x and wireless-qcom-ac.

Hi All,

I'm new at Mikrotik gear and thought it would be good to post my full configuration of my network. Hopefully this will help the next person along, and maybe I'll receive some sage advise from the gurus on here. All feedback welcome.

The config files are here https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_maxslug where I'll try to keep them up to date with the changes as I learn more from you all.

Router
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... mikro1.rsc

Switches
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... er/sw1.rsc
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... er/sw2.rsc

WAPs
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... r/wap1.rsc
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... r/wap2.rsc
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... r/wap3.rsc

Migration from RouterOS 6.x to RouterOS 7.x
The older RouterOS 6.x / old CapsMAN files are at https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... outer-os-6.

This is the diff of changes need to upgrade form RouterOS 6.x to RouterOS 7.x, as well as migrate to wireless-qcom-ac and the new CapsMAN:
https://github.com/maxslug/mikrotik_max ... 55d040f262

mermaid-diagram-2024-04-13-171315.png
(SSIDs only shown on one AP and one Switch, not on all, just to not clutter the diagram)

Thank you to all the mikrotik forum posters for all this knowledge and hard work, especially `pcunite`!

Design Goals

WAN
  • Dual ISPs with auto-failover
  • Complete removal of AT&T router ("residential gateway") from the picture
L1
  • Disaggregation of routing and wifi into separate solutions
  • Switched managed Ethernet
  • Redundancy
  • Power over Ethernet to allow centralized UPS
L2 / L3
  • VLAN separation of Guest, Primary, IOT, Neighbor, and VOIP networks
Wireless
  • Centrally managed access points
  • Roaming / Hand-off improvements