Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Port Forwarding issue

Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:16 am

Hello all,

Complete port forwarding noobie here and I have tried myself using multiple tutorials to open port 3074 and I have just given up. My last effort made me have no internet for 20 minutes so I have turned to the forums.

I have been trying to change the NAT type from Strict to Open on Call of Duty Cold War and I'm having a very hard time.

I have attached two screenshots in the two links provided, can someone tell me where I am going wrong? Thank you. I can imagine whoever helps will want more information so I am happy to provide anything where needed. I have hidden IP addresses with the red blocks just to make sure I am not exposing myself to anything.

https://imgur.com/AWeN0gR

https://imgur.com/q5btaOX
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5705
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:12 pm

Sure will help but need to see the config. ( I dont work from screenshots)
/export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6260
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:15 pm

You already have same rule with zero packets added by upnp, so there's no reason why manually added one would be any different.

Does your router have public IP address? It's required for port forwarding.

Look at IP->Addresses and address assigned to WAN interface (the one connected to internet), is it 192.168.x.x, 10.x.x.x, 172.16-31.x.x or 100.64-127.x.x? If it is, it's not public address. You would still have chance, if your router is connected behind some kind of modem that serves as router and has public address. In that case you could forward ports from it to your router. If not, you can't forward any ports.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
Moba
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:15 pm

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Wed Nov 18, 2020 1:45 am

COD shouldn't require opening port 3074 unless CW went back to using listen servers and you want to host games on your client. If they are using listen servers, the garbage about NAT types on Activision's site applies.
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:09 am

Sure will help but need to see the config. ( I dont work from screenshots)
/export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish
How do I export? Through the web version through terminal it did not do anything. I opened winbox app, signed in but see no export option.
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:20 am

You already have same rule with zero packets added by upnp, so there's no reason why manually added one would be any different.

Does your router have public IP address? It's required for port forwarding.

Look at IP->Addresses and address assigned to WAN interface (the one connected to internet), is it 192.168.x.x, 10.x.x.x, 172.16-31.x.x or 100.64-127.x.x? If it is, it's not public address. You would still have chance, if your router is connected behind some kind of modem that serves as router and has public address. In that case you could forward ports from it to your router. If not, you can't forward any ports.
There are two addresses in that section. The top one is 172.20.xx.xx.xx/xx which is connected to ether1.

The one underneath which has ;;; deconf on the line above is 192.168.xx.x/xx which is connected to ether2.

I live in an apartment block so everyone has the same routers.

Here is a link of the set up - https://ibb.co/VxK7mdS

You see the grey lead coming from the box on the left, well that was hanging out all until yesterday. It was a lead coming from a section which lit up the 'port light' once I had plugged it into the router. But, my NAT is still STRICT.
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:23 am

COD shouldn't require opening port 3074 unless CW went back to using listen servers and you want to host games on your client. If they are using listen servers, the garbage about NAT types on Activision's site applies.
When I open COD, I see the port 3074 appear under Demonware but no packets pass through. In the settings on COD, it says "The game tried to use UDP port 3074 to open the required port for an open NAT in-game." It goes onto saying "Depending on your router, you may be able to enable UPnP, port forwarding or add your playstation to DMZ to get the NAT type to appear Open in-game, which will provide the best experience for connecting with other players".
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6260
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:25 am

172.20.xx.xx is not public address, so that would mean no port forwarding for you. Unless you'd have NAT 1:1, but judging by zero packets hitting your rules, you probably don't.

One chance would be if upstream router had public address and working UPnP, and if you'd not insist on using your router as router, but only as transparent bridge/switch. Your devices would then get addresses directly from upstream router and would be able to open ports using UPnP. It's not guaranteed that it would work like this, but maybe it could. Downside is that you wouldn't have isolated LAN as you have now. You can quickly test this, if you connect your gaming device directly to big box on the left instead of router.
How do I export? Through the web version through terminal it did not do anything. I opened winbox app, signed in but see no export option.
It should create file anynameyouwish.rsc which you'll see in Files. In WinBox you need to select New Terminal.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:13 pm

172.20.xx.xx is not public address, so that would mean no port forwarding for you. Unless you'd have NAT 1:1, but judging by zero packets hitting your rules, you probably don't.

One chance would be if upstream router had public address and working UPnP, and if you'd not insist on using your router as router, but only as transparent bridge/switch. Your devices would then get addresses directly from upstream router and would be able to open ports using UPnP. It's not guaranteed that it would work like this, but maybe it could. Downside is that you wouldn't have isolated LAN as you have now. You can quickly test this, if you connect your gaming device directly to big box on the left instead of router.
How do I export? Through the web version through terminal it did not do anything. I opened winbox app, signed in but see no export option.
It should create file anynameyouwish.rsc which you'll see in Files. In WinBox you need to select New Terminal.
That's such a shame. I do not have a lead long enough to connect to the big box on the left, it would be in the way too. I have found the .rsc file but how do I read the contents so I can copy them here?
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:15 pm

172.20.xx.xx is not public address, so that would mean no port forwarding for you. Unless you'd have NAT 1:1, but judging by zero packets hitting your rules, you probably don't.

One chance would be if upstream router had public address and working UPnP, and if you'd not insist on using your router as router, but only as transparent bridge/switch. Your devices would then get addresses directly from upstream router and would be able to open ports using UPnP. It's not guaranteed that it would work like this, but maybe it could. Downside is that you wouldn't have isolated LAN as you have now. You can quickly test this, if you connect your gaming device directly to big box on the left instead of router.
How do I export? Through the web version through terminal it did not do anything. I opened winbox app, signed in but see no export option.
It should create file anynameyouwish.rsc which you'll see in Files. In WinBox you need to select New Terminal.
Never mind, I used an online reader.

# nov/22/2020 20:14:51 by RouterOS 6.43.12
# software id = C3K4-41ZX
#
# model = RBD52G-5HacD2HnD
# serial number = B4A00AE11D6B
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=74:4D:28:74:BC:DB auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n disabled=no distance=indoors \
mode=ap-bridge ssid=APARTMENT12_2G wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=5785 mode=ap-bridge ssid=\
APARTMENT12_5G wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=\
dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=\
ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=22,443 protocol=tcp src-address=\
213.218.229.144/29
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface=ether1 out-interface-list=WAN
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat comment=ps4 dst-port=3074 in-interface=ether1 \
protocol=udp to-addresses=192.168.88.135
/ip upnp
set enabled=yes
/ip upnp interfaces
add interface=bridge type=internal
add interface=ether1 type=external
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/London
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:16 pm

Sure will help but need to see the config. ( I dont work from screenshots)
/export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish
Please see above for config.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5705
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:49 pm

/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
192.168.88.0

Should be bridge NOT ether2

What are you trying to accomplish with this????
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=22,443 protocol=tcp src-address=\
213.218.229.144/29


Not sure if it will hurt but only need one or the other,,,,, the default is out-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface=ether1 out-interface-list=WAN
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6260
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:46 pm

I do not have a lead long enough to connect to the big box on the left, it would be in the way too.
It was meant as quick test, if it would work better without router. And direct cable connection is the simplest way, because you don't have to reconfigure anything. But if you don't have long enough cable, you can test it with slightly reconfigured router. All you need is to add new bridge, then select two ports and move them from old bridge to new one. Nothing else. Connection between these two ports will then be completely transparent. Then connect one to big box on the left and another to gaming device.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:34 am

/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
192.168.88.0

Should be bridge NOT ether2

What are you trying to accomplish with this????
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=22,443 protocol=tcp src-address=\
213.218.229.144/29


Not sure if it will hurt but only need one or the other,,,,, the default is out-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface=ether1 out-interface-list=WAN
I have no idea... I did not create any of the rules. I live in an apartment and the internet was already configured once I had moved in. Please can you tell me how to change to bridge?
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5705
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:09 am

Ouch,,,,,,, you took over an MT router with no background
I hope you got a reduction in rent LOL

My recommendation is to get some books.
and to take basic course.
https://www.amazon.ca/Routeros-Example- ... 399&sr=8-8
https://www.amazon.ca/Theory-laboratori ... =8-1-fkmr0

This has gotten some recommendations
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umb743VY9rY&t=397s
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
MikroNoob96
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:35 am

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:40 am

Ouch,,,,,,, you took over an MT router with no background
I hope you got a reduction in rent LOL

My recommendation is to get some books.
and to take basic course.
https://www.amazon.ca/Routeros-Example- ... 399&sr=8-8
https://www.amazon.ca/Theory-laboratori ... =8-1-fkmr0

This has gotten some recommendations
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umb743VY9rY&t=397s
Yeah I ain't going to pay $88+ to learn how to change to bridge instead of Ether2, that's what forums are for! lmao.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5705
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Port Forwarding issue

Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:24 pm

Spoon feeding aint my bag, its some kernel of interest in learning how to config at least basics that is worth my time.
Call it progressive socialism LOL
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baxik and 38 guests