Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sleerf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:12 am

Custom browser VPN to access winbox?

Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:16 am

My apologies if this has been covered previously. I searched and there are literally thousands of threads regarding VPN but not what I want to accomplish.

We only access our mikrotik routers using winbox through a VPN. We also manage a lot of equipment on our Networks through VPN. Some browsers like Opera have a built-in VPN capability.

So call me foolish, but it seems to me that it would make a lot of sense I can somehow have a browser configured for a specific mikrotik VPN.

What that would allow me to do is open up three or four different browsers, each connected through a VPN just like copper does, but I would be able to access multiple Networks web configurations simultaneously.

Along the same lines, I'm wondering if there isn't some kind of way 2 setup box so that a VPN is automatically connected via winbox using the VPN that correlates with Pap device that I'm trying to access.

Given the fact that Opera and others are able to do this with their browsers it seems like it shouldn't be that difficult.. but it would save me a lot of time bouncing back and forth between vpns, opening the BPM window choosing a VPN the matches the network that I want to get on, then launching winbox or a browser, doing what needs to be done, and then repeating this whole crosses for different network. Instead I could actually have a browser already open for each Network and just bounce between them as needed.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6260
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Custom browser VPN to access winbox?

Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:18 am

Let's say that VPN is very broad term.

But if your problem is connecting between different VPNs, and you'd like to have everything accessible using just one, it's doable. For example, you could have one device as server and have all other routers connect to it using VPN. Then if you'd connect to server using VPN yourself, you'd be able to access all connected routers at once. Even those previously inaccessible that are behind NAT. And you wouldn't even need any browser (I don't think I got what's the idea with browser, it would make sense if you'd use WebFig, but not for WinBox).
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests