Community discussions

MikroTik App

MKxTi
just joined
Topic Author

Lockout after default bridge deletion?

Thu Nov 26, 2020 10:13 pm

Firstly I'd just like to say that I'm a complete beginner to Mikrotik xD

I'm trying to remove the default bridge on the hAP ac2 because each port will be used for a different VLAN (eventually I'd like to set up port isolation because of this) but I just keep getting locked out. I've tried changing the MAC address of the bridge and then removing all of the ports but no dice.

Before I delete the bridge, I notice that in the IP address list, the initial IP address the device has (192.168.88.1) is assigned to port 2 and not the bridge. Since I managed to remove other ports above port 2 and 3 (I'm connected via port 3) I thought I'd assign a different port an IP address (192.168.88.3) to try and connect that way outside of the bridge. I change the cable over to that port but get no connectivity. However upon switching the cable back to port 3 I can no longer connect (but I can ping).

I've no idea why it's doing this :S

I'd like to only use bridges when I need to setup a WAP to join to one of the VLANs. I intend to repurpose the WAN port to be a trunk port carrying out the VLANs on to my router.

Thanks in advance for any help!

bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Lockout after default bridge deletion?

Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:54 pm

Many things can cause this. Configuration can be anything. Please share the config (" /export hide-sensitive file=yourfilename" and attach the *rsc file in your post)

Just to start: a default hAP ac2 has ether1 as WAN and other interfaces connected to the bridge. The bridge is in the "LAN interface list".
This LAN and WAN interface list is important in the default config settings. Access is only allowed to the members of the LAN interface list.
If you disconnect ether3 from the bridge, then don't forget to add ether3 to the LAN interface list. Idem dito for any other interface.