Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
moveik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:16 am

Upgrade via a LAN port

Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:48 pm

Is it possible to perform an (auto) upgrade via a LAN port ?
If not, could you please add this option?


Normally, when click the Upgrade button in WebFig then the device tries to connect to the upgrade server via the WAN port.
But WAN doesn't always necessarily mean Internet.
 
erlinden
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Upgrade via a LAN port

Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:54 pm

THere are multiple ways to upgrade your device:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:U ... g_RouterOS
First the problem, then the solution
 
moveik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:16 am

Re: Upgrade via a LAN port

Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:38 pm

THere are multiple ways to upgrade your device:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:U ... g_RouterOS
Thanks, I've read it.
It's lacking info about the manual WebFig upgrade but I managed to figure it out:
  1. Infer the Architecture of your device from the Mikrotik website: https://mikrotik.com/products
  2. Download the "Main Package" according to the device's architecture from: https://mikrotik.com/download
  3. Upload the package via the WebFig interface from the Files webpage.
  4. Reboot the device.
  5. after the reboot, the device will be up to date - verify it:
    "/system package print"
  6. if the device did not upgrade correctly, make sure you check the log:
    "/log print without-paging"
Still, it could be nice if all internet related functionality would be diverted to another interface (such as NTP/DNS).
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5272
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Upgrade via a LAN port  [SOLVED]

Thu Dec 24, 2020 7:20 pm

Normally, when click the Upgrade button in WebFig then the device tries to connect to the upgrade server via the WAN port.
It's not exactly like this. What actually happens is when you click Upgrade button device tries to contact upgrade server and uses usual routing information for that. Whether this means it will use ether1 (WAN port in most of default configs) or some other interface is up to IP configuration.

BTW, WAN interface is more or less only marking on device's case which corresponds to default config. Other than that, all interfaces are equal, all can perform any high-level duty if configured appropriatelly (not exactly peace a cake but not extremely hard either).
BR,
Metod
 
moveik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:16 am

Re: Upgrade via a LAN port

Thu Dec 24, 2020 7:46 pm

Normally, when click the Upgrade button in WebFig then the device tries to connect to the upgrade server via the WAN port.
It's not exactly like this. What actually happens is when you click Upgrade button device tries to contact upgrade server and uses usual routing information for that. Whether this means it will use ether1 (WAN port in most of default configs) or some other interface is up to IP configuration.

BTW, WAN interface is more or less only marking on device's case which corresponds to default config. Other than that, all interfaces are equal, all can perform any high-level duty if configured appropriatelly (not exactly peace a cake but not extremely hard either).
I understand.

I did managed to ping successfully to 8.8.8.8 (via Tools -> Ping) and also did a traceroute to it (via Tools -> Traceroute).
BUT, strangely - when I clicked the button "Check For Updates" in the page "System -> Packages" then the following message appeared:
ERROR: could not resolve dns name
Are you able to understand why this happens?

Edit:
I fixed it, for some reason there was no DNS server defined in IP->DNS.
I just now added the IP addresses and tried again - and it works.

Cheers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 98 guests