Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
linerman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:52 am

Changing internet provider

Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:57 pm

Hi,

I am going to change my internet provider.
What should I do step by step? Which configuration will I need to change in Winbox?
I would like not to start from scratch and then import my config files.
How to recognize IP, gateway etc. from my future provider?

Regards
Martin
 
erlinden
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Changing internet provider

Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:05 pm

It depends...

What medium (cable/xDSL/Fibre), current and future?
Do you have any other hardware involved on being able to connect to the Internet (like a modem)?
If so, what modem do you currently have (from your current provider)?
What modem will you get from your new provider?
How is the router configured (/export hide-sensitive file=anythingyoulike)?

Can you please add any relevant information?
First the problem, then the solution
 
erkexzcx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:42 pm

Re: Changing internet provider

Thu Dec 24, 2020 8:48 pm

No, it does not depend...

You need to configure your router the same way you configured previously for your current ISP.
 
erlinden
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Changing internet provider

Thu Dec 24, 2020 9:00 pm

No, it does not depend...
Well, actually...

Perhaps you forgot the situation that the ISP requires a PPPoE configuration?
Or it requires VLAN configuration on the WAN side (in case of fiber)?
And there might be more situations that a change is required.
First the problem, then the solution

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 74 guests