Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
vas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 5:35 am
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Contact:

hAP ac3 not sending Router Advertisements, SLAAC fails

Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:42 pm

Dear Colleagues,

I've configured a static IPv6 address on the bridge interface and enabled the "Advertise" checkbox:
/ipv6 address
add address=2001:470:ecba:3::1 interface=bridge
add address=2001:470:35:7af::2 advertise=no interface=sit1


[admin@MikroTik] > /ipv6 nd prefix print 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 0 ID prefix=2001:470:ecba:3::/64 6to4-interface=none interface=bridge on-link=yes autonomous=yes valid-lifetime=4w2d preferred-lifetime=1w 
[admin@MikroTik] > 
In Wireshark, I see the Android devices sending Router Solicitations (icmpv6.type == 133) , but no Router Advertisements (icmpv6.type == 134) from the Mikrotik. Therefore SLAAC on the devices fails.

What can I be missing? Did I forget to enable something else?

It's RouterOS 6.48.

PS Just noticed that "print" shows the prefix as invalid (the "I" flag). This is probably the reason why it is not being advertised, but what can render a prefix invalid? It's just a directly connected network.

PS1 I'm kind of surprised: when my IPv6 router was a FreeBSD system, its rtadvd never failed to send Router Advertisements, I did not do anything special other than enable rtadvd and specify the interfaces to send the Router Advertisements to.
 
User avatar
vas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 5:35 am
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: hAP ac3 not sending Router Advertisements, SLAAC fails  [SOLVED]

Sat Jan 09, 2021 7:08 am

The problem was in IPv6 -> ND -> Interfaces. When I changed interface=all to interface=bridge, the prefix in IPv6 -> ND -> Prefixes became valid and started to be announced.

I don't know why the initial setup had configured interface=all, but it was obviously incorrect.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 70 guests