Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Nunchoooo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:49 am

Basic routing

Wed Feb 17, 2021 4:09 pm

Hello,
please help me with this strange for me situation.
My ISP give me 2 vlans. They are on Ether1. First VLAN is for PPPoE and everything is OK.
On Ether 2-5 i have Bridge and do Masq to a local network (192.168.1.0/24)
On second VLAN they give me access to a cams private network (172.16.10.0/24)
How can i route all destignations to 172.16.10.0/24 to go from this VLAN to see cameras?

Sorry for my English and thanks in advance
 
Nunchoooo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:49 am

Re: Basic routing

Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:37 pm

Nobody knows???
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6190
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Basic routing

Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:10 pm

Probably because your description is confusing.

VLAN for pppoe I understand.
VLAN for cams private network???

Whose video cameras? Where are they located, makes no sense to me because you didnt describe a use case???
Did you ask for this vlan and if so for what purpose.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Basic routing

Fri Feb 19, 2021 11:03 pm

I think you should look at examples of IPTV that also use two vlans next to each other.
Loving my freedom and so, no Twitter, no Facebook/Instagram/WhatsApp, no Apple and no Google/Alphabet, no Amazon/Cloudfront/AWS.

Running:
RouterOS 6.49Beta / Winbox 3.27 64bits
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6190
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Basic routing

Fri Feb 19, 2021 11:29 pm

The OP didnt say IPTV as that has multicast issues as well.
I dont think it will be a difficult issue to config once its understood.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Nunchoooo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:49 am

Re: Basic routing

Sun Feb 21, 2021 8:13 pm

Probably because your description is confusing.

VLAN for pppoe I understand.
VLAN for cams private network???

Whose video cameras? Where are they located, makes no sense to me because you didnt describe a use case???
Did you ask for this vlan and if so for what purpose.
This is security cameras and they give me access to watch. All are connected to same vlan with NVR. I want to access this private network on second vlan from my private network.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6190
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Basic routing

Sun Feb 21, 2021 9:44 pm

Still not clear.

THE ISP gives you one ISP for internet.
Are you saying the ISP has its own security camerass that are locked onto another PUBLIC IP that the ISP gives you.
Never heard of that before.

You really need to draw a diagram to show the equipment and networks...........
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
akakua
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:52 pm

Re: Basic routing

Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:20 am

If they give you IP address in network 172.16.10.0/24, then you can do "masq" to interface cam vlan, but if you need real routing, then ask your ISP to add static route to your local network (192.168.1.0/24) on gateway of cams network (172.16.10.0/24) (they never do that)
 
Nunchoooo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:49 am

Re: Basic routing

Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:53 pm

Image
 
Nunchoooo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:49 am

Re: Basic routing

Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:57 pm

If they give you IP address in network 172.16.10.0/24, then you can do "masq" to interface cam vlan, but if you need real routing, then ask your ISP to add static route to your local network (192.168.1.0/24) on gateway of cams network (172.16.10.0/24) (they never do that)
Yes they give me but nothing happen. Traceroute stop to my router 192.168.1.1
 
akakua
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:52 pm

Re: Basic routing

Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:00 am

/ip firewall nat add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface="VLAN1425"
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5442
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Basic routing

Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:07 pm

If the command above fixes the problem, then proper solution (assuming most of firewall setup is default) is to add interface VLAN1425 to WAN interface list ... same as pppoe-out1. After that remove the setting above, it should not be necessary anymore.
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: etegan, tdw and 37 guests