Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Daniel44
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:47 pm

Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:33 am

Hello,

im very new to mikrotik. I configured a CRS106-1C-5S via winbox. I renamed the interfaces. How can I see which interface is connected to which port?
Screenshot 2021-02-22 093148.jpg
As you can see, I renamed several ports, but I can't see, how the port sfp2 is named.

Best Regards

Daniel
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:34 am

/interface print detail 
to list all interfaces details or
/interface print where default-name=sfp2
to find default name of one interface
---
Karlis
 
Daniel44
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:47 pm

Re: Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 12:37 pm

hello Karlisi,

ist it also possible via winbox?

Best regards

Daniel
 
User avatar
karlisi
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 8:09 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:37 pm

It is in winbox using Terminal.
In GUI no, it isn't possible. If renaming, put the default name in comment, it can help sometimes
---
Karlis
 
Daniel44
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:47 pm

Re: Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 2:25 pm

Thanks.
@Mikrotek: this would be a nice feature :)

Best regards

Daniel
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Rename interface: to what port is it connected to?

Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:59 pm

You can also use MAC address to determine - lowest will be first port, highest will be last port.

But I find it better practice to have a naming scheme - where ether1 is the port - change it to 'ether1-WAN' or 'ether1-ISP' or 'ether1-Haus' - or some combo of the same to keep the interface type and number handy (which has the added benefit of keeping them ordered in the list by name as well), shortened might be 'e1-WAN'.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Halfeez92 and 68 guests