Page 1 of 1

Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working  [SOLVED]

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 5:36 am
by jkstill
Router: RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN
Switch: CSS326-24G-25-RM

I have connected the switch and router via SFT Ports, using 1G copper modules.

On both the switch and router, auto negotiation is disabled, and speed set to 1G

Prior to doing that, the router cable test would fail.

Now I see activity lights at each end, and the cable test succeeds.

However, when I try to use these ports to connect to router and switch, I cannot access the internet from any machine connected to the switch.

Checking the traffic on the router with Winbox, I see TX, but no RX.

There doesn't seem to be much to do on the switch side, other than what is already mentioned.

Any thoughts on what I may have missed?

I did see the SWOS 2.13 announcement, and it seemed like that might fix it, but, that was for a specific switch, not the one I have.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:39 pm
by anav
Without seeing the configs on the router and switch not much can be done.

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 5:44 pm
by jkstill
Without seeing the configs on the router and switch not much can be done.
Ok, please tell me what you would like to see.

Screen shots? something else?

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 7:07 pm
by anav
Without seeing the configs on the router and switch not much can be done.
Ok, please tell me what you would like to see.

Screen shots? something else?
The configs LOL

/export hide-sensitive file=anynameyouwish

Download from files, in winbox and open in notepadd++ paste here and use the code icons (like Bold, underline) so its nice and short ...........

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 5:55 pm
by jkstill
Thanks. I was just ready to post the router config, and did some more troubleshooting.
Seems I had 2 bad cables. The third one worked.

BTW, the CSS switches run SWOS, not RouterOS. I don't believe there is any option to dump the config to a file.
There is a backup, but that is not really human readable.

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:41 pm
by anav
Thanks. I was just ready to post the router config, and did some more troubleshooting.
Seems I had 2 bad cables. The third one worked.

BTW, the CSS switches run SWOS, not RouterOS. I don't believe there is any option to dump the config to a file.
There is a backup, but that is not really human readable.
Good to hear it was cables!! No wasnt aware that the large switch setups with sWOS dont have a config to export.....

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:43 pm
by mkx
No wasnt aware that the large switch setups with sWOS dont have a config to export.....

Any switch setups with swOS only have one type of human-readable configuration export: the graphical one.

Re: Connect switch and router via SFP - partially working

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 8:40 pm
by anav
No wasnt aware that the large switch setups with sWOS dont have a config to export.....

Any switch setups with swOS only have one type of human-readable configuration export: the graphical one.
Ahh the snipping tool! :-)