Community discussions

MikroTik App

n3ver
just joined
Topic Author

Erratic device behaviour on WLAN

Sat May 01, 2021 12:04 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and for some questionable reason I am using a hAP ac2 router.
My problem in short: a wireless device on the LAN can be available over cable and unavailable over WLAN at the same time unless pinged for some time from a wireless device.

Example
Devices:
1. Windows PC, wired connection
2. Android Phone, WLAN 5 GHz
3. ESP32-based IoT Device, WLAN 2.4 GHz
Please keep in mind that it doesn't really matter if device #2 is on 5 GHz or 2.4 GHz wireless network, because the problem persists in any case.

The bamboozle:
If I ping the device from PC, it's 0% packet loss, everything's OK.
Then I try and ping it from the Android phone, and it returns "Destination host unreachable". Even if it's being successfully pinged from the PC at the very same time.

Then some magic happens.
If I keep pinging device #3 for some time from the phone OR if I send a number of requests from other wireless IoT devices to it, it starts responding and stays available for some time.
I can't tell for how long it stays that way, but it will turn unresponsive in some time. In that case I'll have to ping it to life again.
I've noticed that if it's unavailable from the phone, it's unavailable from other WLAN devices either and vice versa.

I couldn't find any requirements as to post the config file on topic creation, so let me know if it's necessary, I have it ready.

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Erratic device behaviour on WLAN

Sat May 01, 2021 12:32 pm

Anything about erratic device in logs? Copy-paste output of command /log print (run it in terminal window) to a text editor and search through logs for device's MAC address and/or IP address.

n3ver
just joined
Topic Author

Sat May 01, 2021 7:30 pm

Hi mkx,