Community discussions

MikroTik App

tschiex
just joined
Topic Author

Connecting a Mikrotik router to a non cooperative ADSL router

Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:03 pm

Dear Mikrotikers,

I'm a beginner in network management and I find myself in a non-trivial situation. I have a Mikrotik router (A) with Wifi and LTE that I want to connect to an ADSL box (B) in router mode. The box B (a powerful Freebox Delta: it can host Virtual Machines), lacks the ability to set up routes (weird for a router, I know).

I would like to access B's LAN from A and conversely.

The topology:

A is 192.168.8.128, connected to the internet by lte1, to ethernet LAN by a bridge with wlan1, wlan2, and all eth ports except eth1.
B is 192.168.0.1 and is connected to the internet by ADSL + LTE (poor reception) and offers an ethernet LAN with a switch.
A is connected to B by its eth1 port, directly connected to the switch of B.
On A, I have associated a static address 192.168.0.254 to eth1 (not in the pool of B's DHCP server) and I have created a static IP route that maps dst 192.168.0.0/24 to 192.168.0.254%ether1
On B, having no capacity to set up even static routes, I have created a Virtual Machine 'C' (192.168.0.8) with a route to 192.168.8.0/24 via 192.168.0.254 on B's LAN + I have enabled forwarding (sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_forward=1, useless for now I think, but it's there).

I now have the ability to connect to 192.168.0.8 (C) from any computer on the LAN of A but I cannot connect to any other machine on LAN B. I understand the answer from other machines is sent to B and lost. I also have the ability to connect to any machine of A from C but not from other machines of B (same reason).

I'm considering disabling the DHCP server on B and creating one on C that will identify itself as the "gateway" for B's LAN and keep B as its own default gw but I am also wondering if something simpler could not be set up? Would Proxy ARP be useful in such a setting?