Community discussions

MikroTik App

Parsanejad
just joined
Topic Author

Need help for setting a VPN on a MikroTik RB951Ui-2HnD router (plus Split-Tunneling)

Thu Apr 29, 2021 3:31 pm

Hello there,

I hope this is the right place to ask this. I'm just not much experienced with MikroTik devices (and network stuff in general).

I have a MikroTik RB951Ui-2HnD router which I'm currently using it as an Internet Access Point. I also have a VPN account bought from ExpressVPN and I'm planning to set it up directly on the router so any device connected to the router/access point can use VPN without needng the mobile apps or any other client-side configuration. I also hope to be able to enable split-tunneling for the VPN connection so that certain websites/applications go through VPN and others don't.

But as I said I'm a total noob with these things. Even the person who configured the router to be an access point wasn't me. So I hope someone will favor me by telling me a way to do this and I kindly ask for your help with this issue if possible.

Thank you in advance.

P.S. I actually posted this on reddit too, but still I couldn't manage it to work.
P.P.S I also checked the following links but didn't a find way to do this:

https://techshielder.com/how-to-set-up- ... n-mikrotik
https://www.cactusvpn.com/tutorials/set ... k-routers/

DeJoe

Re: Need help for setting a VPN on a MikroTik RB951Ui-2HnD router (plus Split-Tunneling)

Tue May 11, 2021 3:34 am

Hi.

You should first decide which VPN protocol you want to use.

After a quick tour on ExpressVPN they (at least) support OpenVPN, L2TP/IPSec and IKE2.

OpenVPN is the easiest one to use and setup. It may be also the slowest.
L2TP/IPSec is easy to setup too.
IKE2 is harder to setup on mikrotik.

Details: