MikroTik App

dot02
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Management interface and general logic behind interfaces

Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:30 am

Hi folks,

I am completely new to the Mikrotik world, but not quite new to the Networking world (10+ years as a Network & Security Engineer, Cisco and Radware Certified, etc.)

While playing with my new RB3011 (FW 6.46.8 - I can’t upgrade to a newer release as they don’t support/recognise the SFP provider by my ISP), I discovered many neat features and frankly I’m quit impressed with the device RB3011 so far. Especially for the price!

However, there is one thing I can’t get to work and I saw that others have also struggled according to diverse forum posts.

As the device is lacking a proper Out-Of-Band Management port, I was planning to use one of the ethernet ports (i.e. Eth10) as a pure mangement port, whose IP would not be routed on the Mikrotik. One way of doing this would be to create a vrf (I will probably do so), but even from a pure routing perspective there is something I don’t understand.

Let’s say for instance I have the following L3 interface config:

eth9: 192.168.88.1/24 (the default Management IP address)
eth10: 10.0.0.1/24

then, I let’s say I have 2 dedicated bridge interfaces, each linked to a single physical interface, like this:

eth9 => bridge_eth9 => switch2
eth10 => bridge_eth10 => switch2

What I find weird is that I can ping (and access the GUI) over its IP assigned to eth9 even though I am physically connected to eth10… from my understanding, having separate bridge interfaces means that the networks are kept separates at L2, so how come that they respond on the IP address of another L2 network/interface?

I’d be really glad for some help and insights on this. I am sure this is just a question of the philosophy the developers put behind Router-OS, but I don’t really get it yet.

Cheers
Denis

tdw
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Management interface and general logic behind interfaces