Community discussions

MikroTik App

FranzVon
just joined
Topic Author

Basic setup: not passing traffic.

Wed Jul 07, 2021 5:30 pm

I have been recommended to look at the MircoTik router, so I am a newbie here.
For testing purposes, I have created a test setup as attached. From the router terminal I can ping everything, also external nodes such as 8.8.8.8
But from the PC at 70.80.90.0 I can only ping the ether2/lan interface, as well as ether1/wan (192.168.0.10) but nothing beyond that.
However, if I turn NAT on, then it passes traffic. But here is the catch, I need it as a plain router, not a firewall, I need it as a border/edge router for some public IP as shown on page 2 on the attachment.
I also followed the “First time configuration” but I just end up the same place again and again. https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... figuration

Routes:
#      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY            DISTANCE
0 A S  0.0.0.0/0                          192.168.0.1               1
1 ADC  70.80.90.0/24      70.80.90.1      ether2                    0
2 ADC  192.168.0.0/24     192.168.0.10    ether1                    0
Any suggestions?
Thanks FV
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

txfz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Basic setup: not passing traffic.

Fri Jul 09, 2021 4:56 pm

You need to configure your EdgeRouter so that it knows where to forward traffic for 70.80.90.0/24.

FranzVon
just joined
Topic Author

Fri Jul 09, 2021 5:41 pm

Well even if i change the default gateway on pc 192.168.0.100 to point at 192.168.0.10, i can't ping from 70.80.90.100 > 192.168.0.100 unless i turn NAT on. So its just not only the retur route there is an issue.

JazzMaster
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:53 pm

Just to show you what the possibilities are for Mikrotik and Ubiquiti and Cisco combinations.
My Network.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.