Community discussions

MikroTik App

fsd
just joined
Topic Author

Route lan and wlan traffic on Router/Modem to Routerboard and back to WAN

Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:18 am

Absolute beginner with basic networking knowledge here!

In my home setup I have a D-Link DSL-2888a Router/Modem combo with ac wifi and gigabit ports and a 750gr3 Routerboard. I am on a PPPoE VDSL connection. As the Mikrotik router is connected after the DSL-2888a, I can't utilize the features of the RouterOS for clients directly connected to the Modem. I am on a tight budget so I won't be buying any new hardware and this is a good use-case for many home users who have Router-Modem combo from their ISPs.

I was wondering if I could create static routes for all the ethernet and wlan traffic on the DSL-2888a to the 750gr3 and then route it back to the wan port on the DSL-2888a modem, therefore managing all the traffic of clients connected to the DSL-2888a.

Of course, if there is a more elegant solution that does NOT involve buying new hardware, please let me know!

Also, can the 750gr3 USB port support installing a wifi dongle to enable wifi features on it?

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Route lan and wlan traffic on Router/Modem to Routerboard and back to WAN

Fri Jul 09, 2021 2:06 pm

Sounds like a question for a D-Link forum.

fsd
just joined
Topic Author

Sat Jul 10, 2021 7:33 pm

Sounds like a question for a D-Link forum.
Care to elaborate? That’s a non-answer.

Pretty sure Mikrotik products are deployed in environments with other vendors’ devices. My question was if such a setup is possible and not about how the “D-Link” router is supposed to be configured.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sat Jul 10, 2021 7:43 pm

Yes, sure, dont have a clue about the USB question.

As to the reply, let me quote you
"I was wondering if I could create static routes for all the ethernet and wlan traffic on the DSL-2888"