Community discussions

MikroTik App

bksan
just joined
Topic Author

cAP ac setup issues

Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:39 pm

Hello MikroTik-Users,

I am completely new to the whole MikroTik hardware and also (probably) a complete newbie in terms of networking.

My last setup (private house):
- FritzBox 7560 as internet router
- Netgear GS324PP as switch
- FritzBox 7362 SL as Wifi Mesh extender connected via LAN

I now wanted to simply change hardware from the FritzBox 7362 SL to the MikroTik cAP ac, which was recommended by a friend of mine. The cAP ac was intended to replace the FritzBox and initially simply work as an AccessPoint to the above mentioned hardware. The plan was to plug the ethernet PoE cable into the cAP ac, do some minor tweaks (setting SSIDs, passwords, potential frequency ranges,...) and let it run. However, I am somehow not able to get it working and now realized that I underestimated the knowledge required to setup the cAP ac.

When I plug the external PoE injector to LAN1 and the coneection to the Netgear switch into LAN2 everything seems to work as expected. My intention was to use the PoE supply from the switch itself and therefore only plug that cable into LAN1. However, when I do this, the cAP ac is not anymore accessible via WinBox nor can I access it from anywhere else. I assume, that some settings are blocking LAN1 from being a "normal" switch connection.
I want all ports to be bridged (Wifi to LAN and vice versa) as well as Wifi on 2.4 and 5 Ghz.

I would be very grateful for any help. If you require more information, please tell me.

Thanks in advance!

Regards

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: cAP ac setup issues

Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:50 pm

Although the capac can act like a router its really best suited as an AP.
If you wanted a combo unit you should have purchased a hapac2 for $69 or a hapac3 for $99 compared to the capac at $69.

I too am not convinced that using other vendors POE on the capac will always work.