Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Hotspot

Wed Aug 29, 2007 11:35 pm

What is the easist config for hotspot? I am just trying to set up a simple hotspot for simulation purposes. I believe my main problem is in the pool settings. Can someone help?
 
danielillu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:37 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Re: Hotspot

Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:45 am

Main steps for setting up a basic & working hotspot are:

Set a working DHCP:
- add a pool with the desired IP range for DHCP.
- add a dhcp -> network which match the pool settings.
- add a dhcp -> server which uses the pool created, and bound to the interface which will host the hotspot.
Test DHCP is working.

Set up Hotspot
- Add a Hotspot server (using "+" button if using winbox or /ip hotspot add name=..... if using console)
- Bound it to the selected interface.
- don't select an adress pool (address-pool=none)
- select default profile
- add a user for testing, tied to the hotspot (or valid for all hotspots in the system):
/ip hotspot user add comment="" disabled=no name="dani" password="1234" server=hotspot1

Try it!

Hope it will help.
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: Hotspot

Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:54 am

Thanks, danielillu

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], BobcatGuy, cdiedrich and 51 guests