Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
meteor83
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:59 am

how to change Mac Address

Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:52 am

Hi

I need to change MAC address of my Ethernet in my routerboard can anybody help me please?

Thank you
 
GotNet
Member
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Florida

Re: how to change Mac Address

Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:28 am

/interface ethernet set ether1 mac-address=xxx
 
meteor83
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:59 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:34 am

thank you very much
 
erreterr
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:39 pm

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:44 pm

Hi,
I am newbie in Mikrotik. I need to change the MAC address of one of the ethernet interfaces, but I put the above mentioned command /interface ethernet set ether1 mac-address=xxx, I receive the message: "invalid item number" I am trying to put the command using winbox "New Terminal" feature. Can I do that in that way or I should login via Command line to put that command?

BR
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6263
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:48 pm

you have to enter correctly formed MAC address you can take an example from existing mac addess
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26378
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:52 pm

follow these steps:

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:18 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> set 4 mac-address=00:0C:42:56:98:66 

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:66 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> 


 
erreterr
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:39 pm

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:04 pm

Thanks @normis and @janisk
Finally I managed to get the job done
follow these steps:

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:18 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> set 4 mac-address=00:0C:42:56:98:66 

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:66 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> 


 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:15 am

How do you revert any MAC address changes?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7717
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:28 am

You set it back to the old MAC address using the same command. If you don't know what that was you will have to reset to factory defaults.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:11 am

Maybe this? Should have looked first =(

/interface ethernet reset-mac-address

or reset-mac (depends where you read)

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/Ethernet
 
User avatar
robyhr
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:00 am

Maybe this? Should have looked first =(

/interface ethernet reset-mac-address

or reset-mac (depends where you read)

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/Ethernet
is there a similar method that doesn't involve reseting whole RB configuration, but for wireless interfaces?
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:21 am

/interface wireless reset-configuration <wireless interface>
It resets the whole wireless interface config (including MAC address)
 
Zdenekhb
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:18 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:53 am

/interface wireless reset-configuration <wireless interface>
It resets the whole wireless interface config (including MAC address)
But cant use this on remote wireless client ... How can i do it on remote client?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6263
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:01 pm

if you require to do this on remote client, you have to create script and schedule it to run in some time. then do reset, and re-apply your settings.

While you have feature available, use them with caution.
 
Zdenekhb
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:18 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:16 pm

if you require to do this on remote client, you have to create script and schedule it to run in some time. then do reset, and re-apply your settings.

While you have feature available, use them with caution.
Good Idea! .. Thx
 
lordyaser
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:39 am

Re: how to change Mac Address

Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:17 am

follow these steps:

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:18 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> set 4 mac-address=00:0C:42:56:98:66 

[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME        MTU   MAC-ADDRESS       ARP        MASTER-PORT        SWITCH    
 0 R  ether1-g... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:14 enabled   
 1 R  ether2-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:15 enabled    none               0         
 2  S ether3-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:16 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 3  S ether4-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:17 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
 4  S ether5-l... 1500  00:0C:42:56:98:66 enabled    ether2-local-ma... 0         
[admin@MikroTik] /interface ethernet> 


hi i need solution for my sxt
please check post and answer or idea for fix my sxt
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=89603
 
Nikita
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: how to change Mac Address

Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:18 pm

Hi,
great Thread
Thanks to all for sharing valuable information.
 
User avatar
laithmikrotik
Member
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: how to change Mac Address

Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:05 pm

thank you very much
 
tibko
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:35 pm

Re: how to change Mac Address

Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:36 pm

is there a way to reset mac-address for all the interfaces at once?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests