Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Password recovery Mikrotik style

Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:35 pm

I have some mikrotik boards that I need to change passwords on. I don't have original passwords and can only access through the DUDE. The problem is: these routers are in production and have traffic passing through, I don't want to take down the devices but,despratley need to change passwords. How can I do this, I didn't see anything in the forums. Thanks
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:17 am

You can't do this.

It would defeat the use of having a password.

Reinstall is the only way.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:25 am

I'm not entirely sure on this, but I believe with the use of a console cable you can access the terminal and do something to help you.

The person that helped me with this was Butch Evans. Seen here: http://www.mikrotik.com/consultants.html
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24361
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:00 am

the only way to reset the password is by reinstalling. it will clear all config, including the password.

if there would be another method, it would compromise your network, and defeat the purpose of a password.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:20 pm

I have some mikrotik boards that I need to change passwords on. I don't have original passwords and can only access through the DUDE.
Actually, what can you access trough the Dude ?
SNMP data ?
or start winbox from there ?

If answer is winbox, than you can find the password.

Also for MT to read: The passwords are stored in the dude database in CLEAR TEXT. :(
It helped me once, but this is a major concern.
Yes, i know, the files should be properly secured, by the os, and by the user. But, in my opinion, this is a major level of insecurity added by the Dude.

I am a big fan. It helps me keep an eye on every node of a major routed network, wich otherwise would be very hard to manage. And i am using the dude since the begining.

So, if the passwords could be encrypted in some way, with proprietary algoritm or with a secure password, than it should be fine. And just a little harder for the casual user driving by the dude db to find out all the passwords if you stored them.

73
 
slipstream1
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:55 pm

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:20 am

If you can access winbox through the dude, just go to users in winbox and create a new identity as admin with the user name and password of your choice. After it is created, then you can delete the other user.
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:58 am

If you can access winbox through the dude, just go to users in winbox and create a new identity as admin with the user name and password of your choice. After it is created, then you can delete the other user.
Good point.

Else....... install again.
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:17 pm

Thanks guys.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:16 am

There really should be a password recovery method.

If it is for legitimate purposes, downtime will be expected - like with Cisco routers you use an interrupt during the boot process. Bad, but far from starting from scratch!

If it is for black hat purposes, downtime will be noticed and you can look into it at this point.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:07 am

backups ?

and backdoor admin accounts...

Sam
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
GWISA
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: Password recovery Mikrotik style

Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:27 pm

Another way to view the password through a previously configured Dude is to use the right-click menu and select Tools/Web

The user name and p/w appears in your browser address bar...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mmyigit and 25 guests