Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
gabriellauter
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:02 pm

upgrade without available space

Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:36 pm

Hi guys,

I have two routerboards running mk version 2.9.44.
I would like to upgrade for the last mk version (actually 2.9.49) but our flash card shows 30.3 MB in total space and it has only 652 kB in available space. How could I proceed for the upgrade of the system?

As we bought the routerboard with pre-installed system, I don't wanna loose my mk license and I'm affraid that the available space will not be enought.

Thanks,

Gabriel Lauter
 
GotNet
Member
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Florida

Re: upgrade without available space

Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:45 pm

Uninstall packages not needed, then upload just the minimum (system, etc) to boot on your network. Then install the rest of the new packages. If these are onboard flash, like RB112, look at bad blocks and the files directory to see why you are short of space.
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: upgrade without available space

Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:40 am

why you have low free space?

Max
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
gabriellauter
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:02 pm

Re: upgrade without available space

Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:48 pm

that's because I have a 32Mb flash card.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: upgrade without available space

Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:58 am

32Mb is enough for normal upgrades, this is not small space.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3819
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: upgrade without available space

Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:47 pm

/file print terse

and see what is taking up your space.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: upgrade without available space

Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:41 pm

I have a similar issue with a 64MB DOM running usermanager on x86 and the usermanager logs filling up the disk. 18 hotspot users are being counted as over 50 users on the 3.0rc3 with a level 5 licence, the resulting logs are huge.

The only solution I can think of is Netinstall or a fresh install from an ISO image.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: creatin, GaryMansperger, Google [Bot], maxb and 42 guests