Community discussions

 
keefe007
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Graph Packets Per Second

Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:53 am

Is there a way to graph packets per second using SNMP?
 
User avatar
ahmedsaffar76
Member
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 2:56 pm
Location: Iraq

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Sat Mar 08, 2008 12:09 am

Is there a way to graph packets per second using SNMP?
Hi ;
I think this is impossible for many reasons like that it will consume the cpu and the routers resources and you don't need a graph for each second .
you could open the graph of any interface or client , it will show you a live graph and if you need to read a point on the graph simply point the mouse on it and hold the left click and it will give you the speed details and the time .
also you could activate the graphs for the interfaces and clients from tools -> graphing and do the same as above on the graphs .
with best regards .
:D
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Sat Mar 08, 2008 12:23 am

For sure you can do it.

I prefer Cacti. You can configure a Centos Server with Cacti and there are also nice templates for RouterOS.
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:00 am

whats the oid for pps?
 
keefe007
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:12 am

Or which exact canopy template has this?
 
User avatar
ahmedsaffar76
Member
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 2:56 pm
Location: Iraq

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:48 am

For sure you can do it.

I prefer Cacti. You can configure a Centos Server with Cacti and there are also nice templates for RouterOS.
Hi ;
Thanks for your reply .
Kindly could you give us details about this centos server with Cacti ? do i have to install them in MikroTik or in another pc ?
waiting your feedback .
with best regards .
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:25 am

I was able to graph PPS by creating a Data Source from OID (i used snmpwalk)
1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.11 (ifInUcastPkts) then .1 for first interface, .2 second, etc..
then create a chart graphing from those data sources.

The big downside I can see with this is that you have to add each and every interface on each and every device as a separate data source. I don't know of a way to "collect" and auto-create these data sources. Also, I'm still not finding the equivalent of
/interface monitor-traffic aggregate info in SNMP for Mikrotik.


Hopefully I'm missing something and there's a better way to do this.


Doug
Doug
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Graph Packets Per Second

Thu Apr 09, 2009 6:15 am

/interface> print oid
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave
0 R name=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2.1 mtu=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.4.1
mac-address=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6.1 admin-status=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.7.1
oper-status=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.1 bytes-in=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.1
packets-in=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.11.1 discards-in=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.13.1
errors-in=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14.1 bytes-out=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.1
packets-out=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.17.1
discards-out=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19.1
errors-out=.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.20.1
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests