Community discussions

 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1683
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

RS232 question

Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:29 pm

Hi,

I need to control devices in remote. My LAN is at point 0m and my devides are at a distance of 1km. My devices only have an RS232 connector. Can I make a point to point with 2 mikrotik and control devices directly from RS232 of mikrotiks? or I have to put another device to convert ethernet to RS232? I have to pass signals to switch on/off electrical devices


Thanks,

Martín.
 
User avatar
JJCinAZ
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: RS232 question

Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:00 am

Depending on your needs, you might be able to use the special user feature in ROS where you can designate that when a specific user connects to the router with telnet or ssh, they will get connected through, immediately, to the RS232 port. Check the docs for details.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: RS232 question

Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:14 pm

Greetings!

Need to turn on and off electrical devices on the net? I use the Rabbit Semiconductor products. Connect and access like any IP device, except it is designed for exactly what you want to do. You will need some electronic experience to assemble your working product. It comes as a "core module" with a bunch of TTL compatible pins, but the rest you must construct. That is no problem here.

The RCM2100 is the one I use. Has web server, form processor, etc onboard. The smallest web server I have seen so far! Smaller than a credit card.

They also have products that convert ethernet to RS232 format, but I have not used those.

http://www.rabbit.com

I think this answer (not your question) may be off-topic for this forum, tho...

I am in no way connected with Rabbit Semiconductors. I just like their products. :D
Last edited by SurferTim on Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1683
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RS232 question

Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:51 pm

Thanks!

I'll study the 2 solutions.


Martín
 
User avatar
JJCinAZ
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: RS232 question

Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:43 pm

For simple power control over Ethernet, try these products: http://www.controlbyweb.com/webrelay/index.html
 
lahoras
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Tunuyan -Mendoza - Argentina

Re: RS232 question

Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:40 pm

This is another compac solution, http://www.tibbo.com/products/, it was help me too much, becouse is a transparent rs-232 over ethernet link, i hope help you....

ARIEL
 
Mtshepisto
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:36 pm

Re: RS232 question

Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:46 pm

Hi, I have the same problem, I looked at the serial to ethernet adapters and they can work. Tell me, were you able to use the serial module of the board or did you opt for the adapters?
 
Mactrekr
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:32 am
Location: SE Arizona
Contact:

Re: RS232 question

Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:14 pm

A more advanced solution to this is to use a product by a company called netburner. We have successfully set up a remotely operated dual camera pan tilt system with this. We are able to control all functions of both RS232 cameras and RS232 pan/tilt head from anywhere in the world. It would be really nice if a RB133c could do this though.

Mac
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: RS232 question

Wed May 21, 2008 4:07 pm

Anyone know if Mikrotik are planning to make the builtin serial port usable for this kind of thing?
 
johnsonwc
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:27 pm

Re: RS232 question

Thu May 22, 2008 4:43 pm

All,
I need to control a Iridium modem through the serial port. As far as I can see, ROS is sadly lacking in serial capabilities making this a very difficult task. JJCinAZ mentioned some "the special user feature in ROS where you can designate that when a specific user connects to the router with telnet or ssh, they will get connected through, immediately, to the RS232 port." I'm not aware of this special capability. Can someone clue me in, or if you have any ideas you would like to share, I'd like to hear them.

Thanks,
Walt

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests