Page 1 of 1

Radius Server for 2000-3000 customer

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:49 am
by Gerlach76
I´m looking for a radius Server for my customers.

Does anybody have a howto for Freeradius and Mikrotik?

Or an other Idea...

THx

Re: Radius Server for 2000-3000 customer

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:22 pm
by SurferTim
Greetings!

I use FreeRADIUS and MikroTik together. Great team, if you ask me.

The FreeRADIUS setup is standard. Needs no special tweeking for MikroTik. Insure you add the MikroTik box info to your clients.conf file.

The setup in MikroTik is simple. Once you get the hotspot set up and working:
/radius add service=hotspot address=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx secret=radiussecret
/ip hotspot profile set X use-radius=yes
Change the xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and radiussecret to your FreeRADIUS server IP and radius secret.
Change the X to the hotspot profile number.

Re: Radius Server for 2000-3000 customer

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:05 pm
by ahmedsaffar76
Dear ;
kindly i would like to ask you if the radius should be configured on another pc or it comes with MikroTik .
with best regards .

Re: Radius Server for 2000-3000 customer

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:36 am
by magic
I use the Freeradius and MT setup too with Mysql database backend. Works very well. You have to check the wiki, there is a complet solution for setup.
My recomendation is that always use a good pc for freeradius and use UPS, because the database is sometimes broken on mysql after power failure.

Krisz