Community discussions

 
Polly_31
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:59 pm

Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:23 pm

Hi all,

Does anybody know if Winbox runs on Linux? I could download it from the router on the Desktop, but when dbl clicking it, it asks me with what to open?!?

Can Anybody help me with that? System is Fedora 7

Thanks,
Chris
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6615
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:37 pm

Winbox runs on Linux, when you have Wine installed on your Linux.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:57 pm

i spent 3 minutes to setup wine and then run winbox in Kubuntu 7.10...it was really easy
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:46 am

So when you're running winbox on linux, do you call it LinBox? :D
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:58 am

So when you're running winbox on linux, do you call it LinBox? :D
no, you call it winbox in disguise :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Vadim
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 9:58 pm
Location: Liepaja, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Apr 07, 2008 2:53 pm

So when you're running winbox on linux, do you call it LinBox? :D
no, you call it winbox in disguise :)
But if you wish, you can call it linbox :)
echo "alias linbox='/usr/bin/wine ~/winbox.exe'" >> ~/.bashrc
:lol:
 
erudite
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:11 am

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:22 pm

I have the same problem too. i want to install winbox on linux too. so How do i install the wine on my ubuntu linux ?
new beginner.
 
Vadim
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 9:58 pm
Location: Liepaja, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:40 pm

You need to install wine package to your system.You can find the appropriate package and instalation manual here: http://www.winehq.org/ . Install it, then download winbox.exe from any of your router and save it in your home directory (or somewhere else if you wish, for example in /usr/local/bin/ ). After that, just type in console wine /path/to/saved/winbox.exe and enjoy the result :). Alternatively, you can create a launcher on desktop with the same command. For me it works fine under Fedora Core 6.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:29 pm

Install Fedora 8 with GDE
yum -y install wine
Double click wine.exe

Done.
 
Vadim
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 9:58 pm
Location: Liepaja, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:06 am

Double click wine.exe
winbox.exe :)
 
User avatar
mushmx
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:38 am

If you use Debian install with:
# apt-get install wine
In my case I copied the windows fonts to get a nice interfaces.
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu May 22, 2008 12:14 am

It could be great to make linbox for linux{without no emulation of win32}, some people dont install wine and the same stuff, because it take more resources when windows enviroment has to be emulated. It could be great to make it runable direct under linux.
 
User avatar
lastguru
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Certified Trainer/Consultant in Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu May 22, 2008 5:45 am

Remember, Wine Is Not an Emulator ;) As for performance, it's very good (except for initialization when it loads libraries in the RAM)
International MikroTik Certified Trainer and Consultant form Latvia.
I do RouterOS Training and Certification worldwide!

skype: lastguru
 
alternativi_boy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:39 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri May 23, 2008 3:28 pm

you will install wine, and you will open winbox, but immidiatly it will freeze, but if you enter in youre router with macc address it works fine..

Reguards
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue May 27, 2008 11:39 pm

But there are people that dont use wine, Is hard to make it for linux?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Wed May 28, 2008 10:32 am

But there are people that dont use wine, Is hard to make it for linux?
yes it is very hard to make it for linux.
there are people who don't use your favourite flavor of linux.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:25 pm

Wine and winbox seems to be perfect. No use fixing what isn't broken.
 
sevenlok
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:02 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:00 am

I am using wine 0.9.17 it work. I run It in Ubuntu hardy / Intrepid. I re-builder It. I hope help somebody.
Get It here http://icmp.com.br/wine_0.9.17-winbox-s ... 86.deb.deb
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:09 am

I am using wine 0.9.17 it work. I run It in Ubuntu hardy / Intrepid. I re-builder It. I hope help somebody.
Get It here http://icmp.com.br/wine_0.9.17-winbox-s ... 86.deb.deb

Thank you man!

The key to this thing is wine version? 0.9.17?

Or you have patched something in your deb package?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:36 pm

i have always used default wine supplied with ubuntu and debian, and had no problems ever. I think i started with ubuntu when it was edgy or breezy.
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:21 pm

i have always used default wine supplied with ubuntu and debian, and had no problems ever. I think i started with ubuntu when it was edgy or breezy.
Older versions of MikroTik does not work with wine+winbox.
New versions of Mikrotik work just fine with any version of wine.
I suppose you started with an old version (latest at that time) of mikrotik / ubuntu / debian / wine and as the time passed you upgraded each one so it works till today for you because you have the latest version of mikrotik.

Wine 0.9.17 (or at least the package above) works perfect with any version of mikrotik!
Just tested and saved me from installing a virtual windows machine just to use winbox!
 
northman
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:38 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:12 pm

But there are people that dont use wine, Is hard to make it for linux?
yes it is very hard to make it for linux.
there are people who don't use your favourite flavor of linux.
It's not necessary to have it for each flavor of Linux. It's possible to have one binary for all Linux.
..But, as soon as it works with wine well it should be now enough :)
 
Wesley
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:00 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:07 pm

When I use the terminal in winbox(I am running Fedora 9) the letters overlap,and it doesn't show all the letters aswell,but the commands work,I just can't see everything that I'm typing...anyone a clue how to fix this?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:18 pm

why don't you just use your linux command line, and SSH to get CLI?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5921
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:56 pm

When I use the terminal in winbox(I am running Fedora 9) the letters overlap,and it doesn't show all the letters aswell,but the commands work,I just can't see everything that I'm typing...anyone a clue how to fix this?
you need msttcorefonts installed on your system.
 
haakon
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sat Oct 02, 2010 1:42 pm

If you need to connect to a RouterOS device with the mac address of a microtik from linux without using wine and terminal.exe, you could try a tool I just created:
http://github.com/haakonnessjoen/MAC-Telnet

:) Even though it's in alpha stage right now, it do work.
--
Håkon Nessjøen
<haakon.nessjoen[a]gmail.com>
 
gzohop
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:08 am

But there are people that dont use wine, Is hard to make it for linux?
yes it is very hard to make it for linux.
there are people who don't use your favourite flavor of linux.
Have you thought of creating mac-telnet linux version?
It would be very useful tool, winbox works under wine but like other apps it does not works perfect :)
under linux you have ssh acces so the only thing missing from winbox is mac level access from linux box

maybe you can just release a binary lib required to gain mac -level access?
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:07 pm

If you need to connect to a RouterOS device with the mac address of a microtik from linux without using wine and terminal.exe, you could try a tool I just created:
http://github.com/haakonnessjoen/MAC-Telnet
That look great!. Good Work
M.
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
radioresearch
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:26 pm
Location: Kabul/Kandahar Afghanistan

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:02 pm

OK, this might be a dumb question, Mikrotik, but why not post the source code, then anyone who wants it for Linux can compile it for their individual Linux package?

If you are already giving it away, why not let us compile it for ourselves?

Thanks!
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:32 pm

OK, this might be a dumb question, Mikrotik, but why not post the source code, then anyone who wants it for Linux can compile it for their individual Linux package?

If you are already giving it away, why not let us compile it for ourselves?

Thanks!

"He spoke the unspeakable!"

I second this motion. API is great, but why is Winbox "secure" and API not?

Why not release the "Winbox API"?
 
usmany
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:05 am

Hi guys,

I installed wine 1.1.42 to my ubuntu 10.04 LTS version, when i double-click to run winbox, its gives me some kind of message that the file is not executable (.exe) that has permission to run. See attached file for the error message if there is something you can do to help me fix the problem.

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
When the world turn back on you, you turn your back on the world...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:16 am

run wine first
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
usmany
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:36 pm

run wine first
How can i run the wine? its worked well when i was using ubuntu 9.10 but when i upgraded to 10.04 LTS it started showing that message.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
When the world turn back on you, you turn your back on the world...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:36 pm

welcome to the wonderful world of linux :) sorry, but I'm no expert in Wine, maybe somebody else can help.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
usmany
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:16 pm

welcome to the wonderful world of linux :) sorry, but I'm no expert in Wine, maybe somebody else can help.
No problem man! :D
When the world turn back on you, you turn your back on the world...
 
stuh84
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Sheffield UK

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:12 am

Open a terminal, and navigate to where the exe file is, then do "sudo chmod 755 winbox.exe", try it after that.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:19 am

I've had this issue before, but it was on Ubuntu 7.04 I think. I forget where it was, but I think it's a file association. Try open with... and set to open with wine. It was a long time ago, so this may not be relevant for you.
Doug
 
stuh84
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Sheffield UK

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:16 pm

I've had this issue before, but it was on Ubuntu 7.04 I think. I forget where it was, but I think it's a file association. Try open with... and set to open with wine. It was a long time ago, so this may not be relevant for you.
Based upon the error shown, it isn't that which is the problem, its that the executable permissions are missing, so the file needs "chmod"ing to fix it. A chmod +x would fix it, but a chmod 755 will set it so the admin can Read Write and Execute, a normal user can Read and Execute, as can a guest.
 
usmany
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:01 pm

Guys,

I am able to make the wine work on my ubuntu 10.0.4 LTS... I login with a root username and tried to run the winbox, then it work.

Thanks for all your help.

If any want to use the winbox on his/her ubuntu system, just download the latest wine 1.2 or later and run it under root user. it works great like you are on window system.
When the world turn back on you, you turn your back on the world...
 
gzohop
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 10:54 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:39 am

Hi

Does anyone know how to make the discovery button work under wine?
Because it works for me on one machine and does not on another and I cannot find out why.
Does it work for you?
 
User avatar
ojsa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:53 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:20 pm

Disable firewall worked for me.

And now it discover.
Network professional - Certified MTCNA, MTCWE MTCTCE, MTCRE, MTCUME and MTCINE. - Wiki Profile
 
mbembi
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:07 am
Location: Indonesia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:11 pm

This is portable winebox with winbox v2.2.18 included WINE portable of course.

just moved to url:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1_Vua ... FNoVEhfbk0

Just extracted and run in folder winebox:
#. /winebox

latter if you like, you can upgrade with newer version.
Last edited by mbembi on Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
alexap
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:20 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:41 pm

should have at least winbox for ubuntu.
or for xfce desktops, gnome, kde.
I do not think that much work.
with wine takes forever to open winbox.
I can not drag the packages to update.
I have to open by web to upload packages.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24141
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:16 am

with wine takes forever to open winbox.
I can not drag the packages to update.
I have to open by web to upload packages.
Could be a problem in your linux.

Wine works actually faster than on Windows, at least here in our office.
Drag and drop also works fine.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
ErfanDL
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:13 am
Location: IRAN
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Winbox on Linux?

Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:46 pm

with wine takes forever to open winbox.
I can not drag the packages to update.
I have to open by web to upload packages.
Could be a problem in your linux.

Wine works actually faster than on Windows, at least here in our office.
Drag and drop also works fine.
I need winbox on raspberrypi
 
Yohanoc
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:27 am

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:39 am

Hi all,

Does anybody know if Winbox runs on Linux? I could download it from the router on the Desktop, but when dbl clicking it, it asks me with what to open?!?

Can Anybody help me with that? System is Fedora 7

Thanks,
Chris
Hi all,

Does anybody know if Winbox runs on Linux? I could download it from the router on the Desktop, but when dbl clicking it, it asks me with what to open?!?

Can Anybody help me with that? System is Fedora 7

Thanks,
Chris


Hi Cris,

You can try as following intruction.

download the app from below link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwYWpI ... 0tOWc/view

then install the application as instalation comment, eg
sudo dpkg -i winbox4lin.deb
sudo apt-get install -f
this is capture after installation finish.
lin winbox.JPG
Warmest Regards,

Yohanoc(newbie)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:02 pm

Should be opened with wine. Install it if it isn't installed, this link may be of help: http://tecadmin.net/steps-install-wine- ... a-systems/
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
Joseph
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Winbox on Linux?

Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:26 pm

This is my first post on the forum, so I'd like to say Hello for everyone :)

I use WinBox on Linux (Debian) via 'wine' and I have two questions:
1. Why I can't see every routers in "Neighbors"? Sometimes one or two, sometimes nothing... I have three routers on my network. (On Windows works fine).
2. Can I enlarge fonts in WinBox or this is a wine issue?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests