Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

rb411 as a client, bridged interfaces. cant ping central ap

Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:07 pm

My problem is: I have never used Mikrotik as a client(instead of them I used Ovislinks or WA2204), now I want to try mikrotik rb411+ROS3(level3)+r52. I want to use it just as a client, in interface1 there will be switch and computers connected to them, I want all computers to be part of network(rb411 is connected to). Central AP is 192.168.76.1(default gateway). I setted up wlan interface as a station(rb411 is connected through wifi to AP), but internet and network doesnt work there. Can you help I dont know what is wrong. Interfaces: eth1 and wlan1 are bridged to bridge called Local.
When I want to ping 192.168.76.1 no response.

/ip/address
0 192.168.76.120/24 192.168.76.0 192.168.76.255 Local
/ip/interfaces/bridge
0 R name="Local" mtu=1500 arp=enabled mac-address=00:0C:42:1E:51:6F
protocol-mode=none priority=0x8000 auto-mac=yes
admin-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 max-message-age=20s forward-delay=15s
transmit-hold-count=6 ageing-time=5m

/ip/route/
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC G GATEWAY DISTANCE INTERFACE
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 r 192.168.76.1 1 Local
1 ADC 192.168.76.0/24 192.168.76.120 0 Local
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: rb411 as a client, bridged interfaces. cant ping central ap

Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:18 am

I have no idea, how to do that in mikrotik. I used for clients linux and different aps(WA2204, Ovislink), that work fine.
Once again, I have central AP mikrotik rb532, local network is supported and all clients connected to mikrotik are part of local network and they can see themselves(they can download anybody from anybody). I achieved this in WA2204,Ovislink. In mikrotik it seems to be problem. I have no idea what and how to use it. I cant find nothing useful on internet. I read something about wds-station, pseudobridge, EOIP. But no idea what is best to use(stability, speed of network). Please help. Central ap is rb532 in Ap-bridge mode, ros 2.9. Client is ros v3.
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: rb411 as a client, bridged interfaces. cant ping central ap

Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:58 am

Ok thanks for help :lol:
I managed to get it working like this:
1. interfaces/wirelless mode: client pseudobridge
2. create bridge
3. put eth1 and wlan1 in that bridge
4. create ip address for that bridge
5. create default gateway in ip/routes
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: rb411 as a client, bridged interfaces. cant ping central ap

Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:06 pm

Not sure you need step 4 & 5.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: rb411 as a client, bridged interfaces. cant ping central ap

Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:53 am

Does bridge need an IP?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests