Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Wynand
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:35 am

Passthrough in mangle

Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:53 am

Hi, I've been trying to set up some basic QOS rules for our wireless network, and have stumbled apon a few questions.

If I do packet marks in mangle, and unselect passthrough, would it bypass queues, firewall filter, or both?
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:20 am

no it will just not go to the next mangle rule.
 
Wynand
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:35 am

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:04 am

I thought unselecting passthrough skipped the rest of the mangle rules.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:16 am

Yes, That's what I meant :-)
 
dcrystalj
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:59 pm

can you tell me what is better?
use on all mangle rules for prioritizing packets passthrough or not, or only on some of them (which)?

regards
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:30 am

For all "mark-packet" mangle rules it doesn't make sense to set passthrough=yes.
If packet is already marked then simply do not send to next mangle rules, to save CPU resources.
 
dcrystalj
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:20 pm

i'm just asking coz my cpu doesn't get more then 30% and mangle doesn't work very well. now i have all set to passtrough="no"
 
jackman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:57 am

As a suggestion, you could use the counter to find out, do your mangle work or not. Basicly the passthrough will be usefull for example

you would like to mark connection and base on the marked connection you would like to mark routing or packet. Or you would like to remark the already marked entity (conn/packet/route). And this passthrough=no is only effected on the same chain.

May this could help
May this could help

Tenny Bagindo
 
dcrystalj
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:19 pm

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:12 am

do you have any examples?
any link?

tnx
 
jackman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:30 am

do you have any examples?
any link?

tnx
on mikrotik wiki you will find alot of example but i will give you a simple trial :
just set following mangle on your router :
1) mark connection on chain prerouting with your pc ip address as src-address and action mark-new-connection with new connection mark = pc set the passthrough =yes
2) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet1 passthrough=yes
3) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet2 passthrough=no
4) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet3 passthrough=yes

And try to make any communcation from your pc to internet for example. You will see on firewall mangle list the counter 2,3 will growth and 4 will stay 0.

if you set your traffic shapper (queue) based on packet 2 or 4 the shapper will not work. It will work on packet3.

Let me know your result
May this could help

Tenny Bagindo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests