Page 1 of 1

Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:53 am
by Wynand
Hi, I've been trying to set up some basic QOS rules for our wireless network, and have stumbled apon a few questions.

If I do packet marks in mangle, and unselect passthrough, would it bypass queues, firewall filter, or both?

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:20 am
by Equis
no it will just not go to the next mangle rule.

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:04 am
by Wynand
I thought unselecting passthrough skipped the rest of the mangle rules.

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:16 am
by Equis
Yes, That's what I meant :-)

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:59 pm
by dcrystalj
can you tell me what is better?
use on all mangle rules for prioritizing packets passthrough or not, or only on some of them (which)?

regards

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:30 am
by mrz
For all "mark-packet" mangle rules it doesn't make sense to set passthrough=yes.
If packet is already marked then simply do not send to next mangle rules, to save CPU resources.

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:20 pm
by dcrystalj
i'm just asking coz my cpu doesn't get more then 30% and mangle doesn't work very well. now i have all set to passtrough="no"

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:57 am
by jackman
As a suggestion, you could use the counter to find out, do your mangle work or not. Basicly the passthrough will be usefull for example

you would like to mark connection and base on the marked connection you would like to mark routing or packet. Or you would like to remark the already marked entity (conn/packet/route). And this passthrough=no is only effected on the same chain.

May this could help

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:12 am
by dcrystalj
do you have any examples?
any link?

tnx

Re: Passthrough in mangle

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:30 am
by jackman
do you have any examples?
any link?

tnx
on mikrotik wiki you will find alot of example but i will give you a simple trial :
just set following mangle on your router :
1) mark connection on chain prerouting with your pc ip address as src-address and action mark-new-connection with new connection mark = pc set the passthrough =yes
2) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet1 passthrough=yes
3) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet2 passthrough=no
4) mark packet on chain prerouting with connection mark = pc, action = mark-packet with new-packet mark=packet3 passthrough=yes

And try to make any communcation from your pc to internet for example. You will see on firewall mangle list the counter 2,3 will growth and 4 will stay 0.

if you set your traffic shapper (queue) based on packet 2 or 4 the shapper will not work. It will work on packet3.

Let me know your result