Community discussions

 
O1DMBFan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:08 pm

Winbox Discovery

Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:54 pm

I just put 2.9.51 on a WRAP board and used hyperterminal to configure the IP on ether1 and then logged in to configure the rest. But in winbox nothing is popping up in the connect to ... box. Is there something I need to enable in order for this device to be "discoverable"?
 
User avatar
bellis
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:15 am
Location: Woodland, WA
Contact:

Re: Winbox Discovery

Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:02 pm

you shouldndt need to do anything, winbox has teh ability to connect via mac, so it should be indifferent of an ip address on it. try connecting to the board directly and bypass any routers (Switch is OK).
"If it ain't broke, you're not tryin"
 
O1DMBFan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:08 pm

Re: Winbox Discovery

Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:07 pm

I wasn't using any switch or router. It was directly to my NIC but it did start working. Not sure why but it did. Thanks for the help though!
 
useresu
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:42 am

Re: Winbox Discovery

Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:49 am

I have the problem with winbox too. It can't connect with RB 411 v3.11 L4.
 
titius
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Winbox Discovery

Sun Dec 14, 2008 1:16 am

maybe UTP cable? try with crossover cable . . .
 
useresu
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:42 am

Re: Winbox Discovery

Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:38 pm

Doesn't mater for switch. And I can log in with ssh but not with winbox :(
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Discovery

Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:19 am

disable Windows firewall and antivirus, and run Winbox in Administrator mode. Also make sure your MTU is 1500 and not less (in Windows).
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Discovery

Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:48 am

also - new routerboards use MDI-X so you can connect with straight and crossover cables without any problems. AFAIK only routerboard without MDI-X was RB230.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests