Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
anjey
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:11 pm

PPTP configuration

Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:59 am

Hello again.

Currently my PPTP setup eats two IP addresses for each VPN connection. Is that possible to use only one for each tunnel? Thx.

P.S.: Mikrotik version 3.17
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: PPTP configuration

Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:20 pm

yes, use the same local-address for all of them.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
anjey
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: PPTP configuration

Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:58 pm

Thx for quick reply!

Will that be 100% safe? No caveats? Thx.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PPTP configuration

Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:44 am

no, it is safe to use same ip address for all pptp tunnels on local side of pptp server.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: PPTP configuration

Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:09 am

What is the problem with same local IP?

I have 100's of tunnels with same local.

I'd like to know so I can fix if needed

:-)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PPTP configuration

Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:33 pm

there are no problems with that.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: PPTP configuration

Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:11 am

Thanks

Sorry I misread your post, I thought you were saying a problem would occur but you were saying its fine.

Thanks - I'll start breathing again now
 
jfmateos
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:50 am

Re: PPTP configuration

Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:51 pm

Please, could you explain why it is necessary a local and a remote address?

I have configured two secrets. I understand that they could use the same local address, but must use different remote addresses. am i right?

Now i am creating a new pptp-in server for each secret. is this right? or could i use only one pptp-in server for my two secrets?

Excuse my poor english

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests