Community discussions

 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Router Setup problem

Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:15 pm

Hi
I am trying to set up a hotspot server. I am using MikroTik RouterOs.
I have successfully set up a hotspot uuser and DHCP server on ethernet 1
My main internet link is on ehernet 2 with ip 41.220.228.130
The problem is that I cannot get my server to browse or even ping my internt gateway of 41.220.228.129
I feel I may have messed in the routing but I am not sure. When I connect the internet link to my laptop, and put in the ip, gateway and dns, I am able to browse well.

Kindly assist.........
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Fri Apr 17, 2009 12:20 am

so ether1 is your LAN and ether2 is your wan!
You put the hotspot server, but did you allow any IP to have access to MT without loging in in hotspot ?
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:37 am

Yes, my laptop IP is 192.168.10.2 and its is bypassed.
So I do not need to log in
But even if I open a new terminal and try to ping my internet gateway it gives me a time out.
My internet IP is 41.220.228.130
My Gateway is 41.220.228.129
My DNS are 41.220.238.4
Alternate is 196.201.231.167

Kindly assist
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:18 pm

Can you please post the hole configuration ?
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:19 pm

I have a Mikrotik Router OS installed on a computer with two network cards.
Ether1 has been used for setting up the hotspot network.
Ip address 192.168.10.254/24. I have also a DHCP server set up on the same assigning IPs from 192.168.10.1 to 192.168.10.253
It successfully assigns an IP address to my laptop if I connect it on ether1 via a switch.
I have also set up a hotspot on ether1 and my login page is 192.168.10.254. If I type the same in my browser, it gives me the log in page.

My problem is on Ether2
My internet cable is connected to Ether2. I have set up the IP address 41.220.228.130/30.
The problem is that I do not know how to set up my internet connection.
When I ping my gateway from the router itself using new terminal, it gives a time out.
Likewise if my laptop is connected on Ether1, it assigns an IP, but is not able to browse.
When I put in the internet cable directly into my laptop and put in the IPs, it is able to browse.

Hope this is clearer and makes you understand my problem.

Kindly assist...........
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Please help.....
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:00 pm

See if you have put the DNS-addresses.

If not then use this command :
/ip dns set primary-dns=41.220.238.4
Alternate one :
/ip dns set secondary-dns=196.201.231.167
check if you have the ether2 gateway, if not then use this command :
/ip route add gateway=41.220.228.129
Did you put the firewall rule ?

If not then you have to use this rule :
/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat src-address=192.168.10.0/24 out-interface=ether2 action=src-nat to-address=41.220.228.130


Reboot the router and try to ping the ether2 gateway.
If the ping is OK then try to surf in internet.

Regards!
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:52 pm

I did all that ringht now, but unfortunately, its still not able to ping the gateway(41.220.228.129)
Kindly advise on what more I should do.
If you could give me the instructions on setting up the internet card starting from the IPs, that would really help.

Thanks...
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:27 am

First of all reset all configuration.
If you don't know how in terminal type : setup and then choose r
Other way is to make a ffresh install.

Now we will start with configuration.

follow this guide :

/ip address add address=192.168.10.254/24 interface=ether1
/ip address add address=41.220.228.130/24 interface=ether2

Now we finished with the IP addresses.
Let start with route :

/ip address add gateway=41.220.228.129

Now we have to put the dns addresses :

/ip dns set primary-dns=41.220.238.4
/ip dns set secondary-dns=196.201.231.167

At last we have to put the firewall rule :

/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat src-address=192.168.10.0/24 out-interface=ether2 action=src-nat to-address=41.220.228.130

After doing all this, reboor the system.

in your ethernet NIC, in your case in lap-top you have to use these addresses :

IP Address : 192.168.10.1
Subbnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
Gateway : 192.168.10.254

Dns : 41.220.238.4
Alternate : 196.201.231.167

Now you have to ping from your lap-top :

ping 192.168.10.254 -t
ping 41.220.238.4

Try to go on internet if the ping is OK.

If everything is OK then you have to follow another tuto for setting UP the Hotspot.

PS : If you are using Wifi then setup hotspot, else you can use PPPOE Server => Client, is better then Hotspot

Regards!
 
dawam
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:40 pm
Location: Malaysia

Re: Router Setup problem

Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:31 pm

I did all that ringht now, but unfortunately, its still not able to ping the gateway(41.220.228.129)
Kindly advise on what more I should do.
If you could give me the instructions on setting up the internet card starting from the IPs, that would really help.

Thanks...
if you cannot even ping your gateway check your routing, have you done routing 0.0.0.0/0 point to your gateway.
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:49 am

I set it up the way you are saying.
When I ping 192.168.10.254, I get a reply.
When I ping 41.220.238.4, it gives me reply from 41.220.228.130, destination host unreachable.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: Router Setup problem

Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:05 am

I set it up the way you are saying.
When I ping 192.168.10.254, I get a reply.
When I ping 41.220.238.4, it gives me reply from 41.220.228.130, destination host unreachable.
Since you cannot ping your gateway, you have to check your cable or change it. Try use crossover cable from your ether2 to the gateway or alternatively try use a switch in-between the router-pc (MT) and try again.
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Mon Apr 20, 2009 12:01 pm

I set it up the way you are saying.
When I ping 192.168.10.254, I get a reply.
When I ping 41.220.238.4, it gives me reply from 41.220.228.130, destination host unreachable.
The IP that you ping is your primary DNS, so have to ping your gateway : 41.220.228.129.

See again the configuration because has no reason to make prolems, or if the problem persist then conect directly the lap-top with the incoming line and test the cable and the internet.

I think that my explain was completly clear.

Regards!
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:18 pm

Hi
Thanks for help
Tried to ping gateway, same problem.
When connecting directly to laptop, works fine

Please assist........
 
singh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Router Setup problem

Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:45 am

Hi, please assist as I am stuck!!!
 
space1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Router Setup problem

Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:15 pm

Contact or add me :

gysi_@live.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests