Page 1 of 1

Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:23 am
by amarburg
I originally posted here: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31316
but it seems like the wrong thread for it.

I've only been using Mikrotik for about six hours so user error is definitely a possibility.

Using an RB450G running 3.30 in a "boring NATing router" configuration with PC A and PC B plugged into ports 4 and 5, and the internet plugged into port 1.

The desirable outcome is to be able to log into the RB450, run a script and WoL either of the PCs. PC A can WoL PC B using the Linux wakeonlan script and vice versa.

If I wireshark on A, I get nothing when I try to WoL A from the RB450.

But if A tries to WoL itself, I get:
Screenshot.png
The packet is a bit ill-formed (it seems to stutter-start a couple of times), but is close enough to get the job done.

Otherwise, I have to say I'm impressed with the RB450G and Mikrotik thusfar.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:31 am
by normis
it's an IP broadcast, this is why the packet will be sent out the gateway interface. if your PC is connected elsewhere, it will not work unless you specify the output interface in the RouterOS WOL command. then it will be sent as aan ethernet broadcast, out the correct interface.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:09 am
by amarburg
it's an IP broadcast, this is why the packet will be sent out the gateway interface. if your PC is connected elsewhere, it will not work unless you specify the output interface in the RouterOS WOL command. then it will be sent as aan ethernet broadcast, out the correct interface.
I had an inkling it was something along those lines. The docs on the wol function are just scant enough to be vague.

So, in this case, I have gateway/internet on ether1, and ether2-5 bridged. Let's say the computer I want to wake is on ether5 at 192.168.88.10. How would I properly format the WOL command?

/tool wol 00:11:22:33:44:55 ...?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:16 am
by normis

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:02 am
by amarburg
Still no luck:
/tool wol 00:1e:4f:c8:44:b3 interface=ether5-local
shows nothing on sniffer or wireshark. The fact that I can WoL from one PC to another on the bridge means there are no firewall problems (?)

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:12 am
by normis
what about interface=bridge1 ?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:36 am
by amarburg
what about interface=bridge1 ?
No change when using interface=bridge

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:00 pm
by marioclep
Try to downgrade the RouterOS version and see what happens.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:01 pm
by normis
Try to downgrade the RouterOS version and see what happens.
I don't think that will help, WOL is a new feature, and interface selection has only recently been introduced :) Downgrade will only get rid of WOL entirely.

We will try to repeat this setup locally.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:12 pm
by amarburg
We will try to repeat this setup locally.
That's great. Let me know if you need any add'l info. I'm open to the idea that it's just a newbie error on my part.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:53 am
by normis
we found a bug and fixed it

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:11 am
by hilton
we found a bug and fixed it
You can't say I didn't tell you before!

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=34294

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:09 pm
by amarburg
we found a bug and fixed it
Great. Can I test it for you?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:55 am
by xezen
will this be avalable in 3.31


and any ideas when this will be avalable


to use as users?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:01 am
by normis
in both new versions. will be released this week

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:33 am
by xezen
what you mean by both 3.31 and 3.32 why not just release 1 new version with all fixes in?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:34 am
by normis
:shock:

no, I mean v3.31 and v4

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:36 am
by xezen
oh i get it now v4 is it v4 or still a beta?

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:45 am
by normis
it's a Release Candidate (RC). look at the download page please

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:53 am
by xezen
sorry didnt see that thanks to the mikrotik team for all the support!


cant wait for new release thanks again team keep it up

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:12 am
by dssmiktik
I'm not sure if this may be any help but I noticed on some unmanaged (no ip address) home switches/routers (Linksys, D-Link, etc) the ports shut off if no activity for a specified time. In other words, your client pings out, port stays on, but if client is powered off for some time, the switch will literally not allow any traffic OUT the client's port on the switch.

I've had this problem for awhile now. As of yet, I haven't found a fix for it.

Re: Wake On Lan problems with RB450G under 3.30

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:35 pm
by nunika
I have a same problem and there is still no 3.31 version. Is there a information when it will be relased ?