Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
speedzonenetwork
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:14 pm

Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:42 pm

How i can backup all my configuration in Mikrotik OS?

so that after a fresh installation, i can completely restore my last configuration?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:59 pm

 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:04 am

/system backup file .backup mode

/export file=name txt mode
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
speedzonenetwork
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:14 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:32 pm

i dont have Backup or Export Option in My OS 3.22.

How can i backup my settings?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Nov 11, 2009 9:13 pm

3.22 has those options.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:13 am

In winbox: "Click on new terminal"

and write "export file=HERE_IS_THE_BACKUP"

Click on "Files"
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
User avatar
DaKater
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:56 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:19 pm

For all who are searching the answer without TERMINAL or COMMANDLINE but with the WEBINTERFACE or WINBOX
... now this post got updated:

How to backup your system with Webinterface or Winbox?
Files (Main menu) -> Click Backup button on the upper left, next to the search files button.
Name must be set for the Backupfile
(optional) A password and encryption would be nice, but you can download the backup and delete the file on the router, too.

How to restore a Backup on Webinterface or Winbox?
Answer:
Files (Main menu) -> Click on the backuped file you want to restore -> Click on Restore button on the upper right.
(of course if you downloaded the file and delete the backup file on the router, then you have to upload it again)

How to upload a backup file (or any other file) with the Webinterface or Winbox:
Files -> Search for files, but be CAREFULL after selecting the file on your local drive there will be no second step like "Are you sure you want to upload!" Upload will start exact after you choose the file on your drive! If it happened that you choose a wrong (big) file and you want to abort just click anywhere in the menu (Log) and go back to files. Delete the first piece of the wrong file and start uploading again the right file with -> search for it local

Cheers!

P.S.: To all mighty fanboys of commandline
Not all people are good with syntax. Not all people feel save in a command line enviroment. (me neither!)
Dyslexic for grammar has a word for it in every language, why not for the command line, script and coding language too?
This has nothing to do with the so called IQ or beeing smart or dump!
And there are a lot of people who are just starting with such things and first need the optical area to learn it. Later, after you got what you did, you are maybe able to write it with a terminal.
I feel envy with you, who have the power of the full command line. I feel envy with you, who maybe had the change in life to study it in the free world or even in a university.
But I need a Webinterface and people who hopefull show me a bit with a YouTube tutorial or help me in a board like this.
Most time, with Mikrotik, Netgear, D-Link (etc.) I am able to read a command line instruction and copy it 1:1 to the webinterface.
It would be nice if you mighty command line user would think of your past days and how (books) and maybe who got you in. Its not always a point of the will to learn, sometimes the option is missing!

Why I wrote it? I try to learn Mikrotik since some weeks and its getting really good at the moment. But USE THE COMMAND LINE is more and more getting a touch of READ THE F... FAQ. I think that is what Mikrotik has as advantages:
Price and Webinterface/Winbox
I would not have replaced all running Cisco routers (three) after 6 years with Mikrotik in this case, if a command line would be no problem for me.
Well, it was fine for the basics, but the next steps are not possible for me to learn just out of the command line. (my brain cannot handle this! * drolling) ;)
I was very satisfied with the power of backplane etc. but never ever with the management of it.
Last edited by DaKater on Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:32 pm

If you need to backup all your network devices automatically, use RANCID.
http://www.shrubbery.net/rancid/

I use it at several customers to backup Cisco, Juniper, Mikrotik, Ubiquiti, etcetera.. devices.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:25 pm

P.S.: To all mighty fanboys of commandline
I think you might be fighting a non-existent enemy here. In RouterOS, CLI is not considered as something superior over WinBox/WebFig. They are all equal, you can do the same things using all of them. Well, there are few bits that are available in CLI and not elsewhere, and some new features also appear in CLI first, but WinBox/WebFig are always catching on. Of course CLI is more practical when you deal with several devices at the same time. And some users prefer it simply because they like it better. But I don't recall anyone in this forum looking down on WinBox/WebFig users. Sure, you can see CLI commands all over the place and only few WinBox/WebFix screenshots, but it's just a matter of convenience, try to express any non-trivial config with screenshots and you'll understand. And as you already discovered, it's very easy to "translate" CLI commands in WinBox/WebFig.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:32 pm

A new entry to the market is Unimus. Does config backup and diff's for MikroTik and many other platforms. 3 devices for free, reasonable pricing for additional.
 
User avatar
boldsuck
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:07 am
Location: Germany

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:28 pm

For all who are searching the answer
... now this post got updated:
Yes Sir, thanks. After 8 years, we are still looking for the download button. And also the microtiki wiki. :)

Why you have onnoossendrijver negatively assessed, I do not understand.
╰_╯ Ciao Marco!
 
User avatar
DaKater
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:56 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:01 pm

I think you might be fighting a non-existent enemy here. In RouterOS, CLI is not considered as something superior over WinBox/WebFig. They are all equal, you can do the same things using all of them. Well, there are few bits that are available in CLI and not elsewhere, and some new features also appear in CLI first, but WinBox/WebFig are always catching on. Of course CLI is more practical when you deal with several devices at the same time. And some users prefer it simply because they like it better. But I don't recall anyone in this forum looking down on WinBox/WebFig users. Sure, you can see CLI commands all over the place and only few WinBox/WebFix screenshots, but it's just a matter of convenience, try to express any non-trivial config with screenshots and you'll understand. And as you already discovered, it's very easy to "translate" CLI commands in WinBox/WebFig.
If someone is asking for Web/Winbox, then the answer should just be the same "Syntax" and not CLI code (or both). That would be fantastic.
Google will drop this post by searching with the tag -webinterface- much before the own mikrotik wiki.
Of course in most posts I searched and had this, I could not help - I was searching the answer, too with Webinterface and what you get is CL CL and again some CL.
That is just frustrating. People ask for sth. and always get the same CLI-answers on the search.
Yes Sir, thanks. After 8 years, we are still looking for the download button. And also the microtiki wiki. :)
Why you have onnoossendrijver negatively assessed, I do not understand.
After 8 years - yeah, sad enough nobody answered the right way in time and Google is finding this post 1st for asking with webinterface, even before the Wiki, and all people are running into it.
Its wrong since 8 years. Just leave it like it this. American? :shock: :D :lol:
Btw your post was very helpful. No technical information given. Not fitting to topic.
Feels like somebody hit exactly the right feet - have nice pain ;)

Better the right answer late, then never!
Tell your "8 year opinion" millions of children who were forced to ate spinach over centuries because of a mistake everybody copied! :D
And by the way, your are maybe born with a modem in your backdoor and a commandline in your eyes. Most other people have to learn and some will start today. Some tomorrow. Some maybe next week.
Nice to have an answer during the first searches and not after hours.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 535
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:31 pm

This is what I do. I have a script that creates a backup file and a export script file. After each file is created, it is sent to my via E-Mail. Obviously I already have the E-Mail settings already set using /tool e-mail. The scheduler runs the script every night. Each of my two routers has a similar script and schedule.
/system script
add name="Daily Backup" owner=redacted policy=ftp,read,policy,test,sensitive \
    source="# Policies needed:  ftp, read, policy, sensitive, test\r\
    \n# Policies NOT needed:  password, reboot, write, sniff, romon\r\
    \n:log info \"Starting daily backup\";\r\
    \n/system backup save name=RB750Gr3-2_Daily\r\
    \n:delay 00:00:01\r\
    \n/tool e-mail send file=RB750Gr3-2_Daily.backup to=\"jim@redacted.com\" body\
    =\"Router #2 daily backup file attached.\" \\\r\
    \n   subject=\"RB750-2  \$[/system clock get date] at \$[/system clock get\
    \_time]  Backup\"\r\
    \n/ export file RB750Gr3-2_Daily\r\
    \n:delay 00:00:10\r\
    \n/tool e-mail send file=RB750Gr3-2_Daily.rsc to=\"jim@redacted.com\" body=\"\
    Router #2 daily script file attached.\" \\\r\
    \n   subject=\"RB750-2  \$[/system clock get date] at \$[/system clock get\
    \_time]  Script\"\r\
    \n:log info \"Daily backup script completed\"\r\
    \n"
BTW, to answer the question someone made about posting responses in CLI format rather than WinBox or WinFig format. Two reasons I can think of.
1) It is far easier to post text than a screen capture (or several of them in many cases).
2) It is far easier to translate CLI commands into WebFig or WinBox commands than the other way around.

Personally I almost exclusively use WinBox, and the above code segment was extracted from last nights export file.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Backup All Mikrotik Configuration

Sat Aug 05, 2017 6:18 pm

If someone is asking for Web/Winbox, then the answer should just be the same "Syntax" and not CLI code (or both).
Actually, I wouldn't say there's a lot of specifically GUI (WinBox/WebFig) questions. I've seen few threads where poster either mentioned using GUI interface in question, or in a reply to solution given using CLI commands. But close to none where pointing out 1:1 mapping between CLI and GUI didn't do the trick. Using CLI commands is the most effective way to express config, that's why you see it everywhere.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: monotsc and 39 guests