Community discussions

 
User avatar
ScottReed
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Montana / Western Massachusetts

v4.3 and RB433's

Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:33 pm

Upgraded from 4.2 to 4.3 to check out the spectrum analyzer on my RB433. After reboot I am now experiencing intermittent ethernet connectivity on all three ports. Cannot MAC Telnet. Cannot access the device.

How can I downgrade without losing the config?

Thanks
 
User avatar
DannyZ
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: v4.3 and RB433's

Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:09 pm

U can't access RB through winbox, IP telnet? I would recommend u to use Netinstall. But if u are able to access your RB through console, telnet or winbox, just use command [admin@Mikrotik] >system package downgrade
 
User avatar
ScottReed
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Montana / Western Massachusetts

Re: v4.3 and RB433's

Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:48 pm

I finally got it to downgrade via the serial console. This probably would have worked from the beginning, but I could not connect to the router using the standard 115200 8N1 console config.

Ended up working at 2400 8N1 - go figure. Not sure what sparked me to try this...

I had another RB433 that I had put 4.3 on and was able to MAC Winbox into it from Ether1 only. This however was not the case with the 2nd unit that I put 4.3 on.

By the way, my R52H wifi interface was working fine on 4.3 - but because of the way I have my router configured and locked down, I was unable to access any of the mgmt features. :lol: Guess this was a good test of the security I had setup.

Hope this post helps someone else with the same issues.
 
User avatar
kameelperdza
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Re: v4.3 and RB433's

Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:24 pm

I used 4.3 and downgrade to 3.30. Evrybody says 3.30 is the more stable
Give me some karma
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: v4.3 and RB433's

Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:28 pm

There was a bug in 4.3 with regards to RB433 boards. Rather downgrade to 4.2 or upgrade to 4.4 (the latter works just fine).
Regards
Hilton

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 41 guests