Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 2:52 am

I recently increased my DHCP pool from172.35.0.X/24 to 172.35.0.X/23. Clients that recieve a 0.X address get out to the web just fine but clients who get a 1.X address cannot. What am I missing?

Help!
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 4:50 am

Did you change the ip/subnet in "/ip address" to 172.35.0.1/23? I usually add a new assignment and remove the old one. That will set the broadcast address correctly.
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Re: DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:00 pm

Indeed I did change the address to the proper subnet of /23. I also changed the srcnat in the firewall to a /23 yet still the sames issue. I don't now what I missed.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:08 pm

Post the output of
/ip address print
/ip route print
/ip firewall filter print
/ip firewall nat print
/ip pool print
/ip dhcp-server export
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Re: DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:51 pm

ok here we go...

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 10.10.10.1/24 10.10.10.0 10.10.10.255 ether1
1 24.xxx.xxx.xx/30 24.xxx.xxx.xx 24.xxx.xxx.xx ether2
2 172.35.0.1/23 172.35.0.0 172.35.1.255 bridge1

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip route print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 24.106.208.73 1
1 ADC 10.10.10.0/24 10.10.10.1 ether1 0
2 ADC 24.xxx.xxx.xx/30 24.xxx.xxx.xx ether2 0
3 ADC 172.35.0.0/23 172.35.0.1 bridge1

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip firewall filter print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 X ;;; place hotspot rules here
chain=unused-hs-chain action=passthrough

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip firewall nat print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 X ;;; place hotspot rules here
chain=unused-hs-chain action=passthrough

1 ;;; masquerade hotspot network
chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address=172.35.0.0/23

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip pool print
# NAME RANGES
0 hs-pool-5 172.35.0.50-172.35.0.254
172.35.1.2-172.35.1.254

[admin@Wisp-Router.com] > ip dhcp-server export
# jul/10/2010 16:47:39 by RouterOS 4.5
# software id = 3FEQ-PUCU
#
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=hs-pool-5 authoritative=after-2sec-delay bootp-support=static disabled=no interface=bridge1 lease-time=1h \
name=dhcp1
/ip dhcp-server config
set store-leases-disk=5m
/ip dhcp-server lease
add address=172.35.0.100 comment="Customer Nintendo Wii" disabled=no mac-address=00:23:31:6D:3A:2B
add address=172.35.0.49 comment="Customer Nintendo Wii" disabled=no mac-address=00:23:CC:55:60:7A
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=172.35.0.0/24 comment="hotspot network" dns-server=172.35.0.1,24.25.5.60,24.25.5.61 gateway=172.35.0.1

Now I normally use the winbox gui (yeah I am one of those guys) and not the linux command line (heh I am a Cisco-ese guy so its a little Greek to me). Anyhow, can you see what I am missing?
Last edited by americanmcneil on Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: DHCP issues...

Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:54 pm

Edit the DHCP server network entry. It still has a /24 netmask on it, which is the netmask that will be assigned to the client - that won't work.
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Re: DHCP issues...

Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:28 am

Good God I must be blind. Thanks for the extra eyes fewi. I made the change so lets see how it goes... (will update later)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], leor6br and 93 guests