Community discussions

 
Gilfre
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:52 am

Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable on

Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:58 pm

Hi
Im wondering if someone has got the same thing.
I have installed the RouterOS 4.11 x86 in 2 diferent machines, a Portwell NAR-5020 and a Supermicro sever, and in both machines the ethernet interfaces show the "R" running even if I disconect the cables. I have to say that it seems to work fine as I plugged the cables and surffed Internet through the machines, but rare thing. Don´t you think???
Is that normal in this version???
Thank you to you all and keep working this good.
Greeetings
Gilfre
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:02 am

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:In ... Properties
disable-running-check (yes | no; Default: yes) Disable running check. If this value is set to 'no', the router automatically detects whether the NIC is connected with a device in the network or not.
On x86 running-check defaults to "yes", so all interfaces are always considered running. Set it to 'no' if you want connectivity detection.
 
Gilfre
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:52 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:35 pm

Heyyy
Thank you very much, as it is sometimes, silly things that we do not see, I will check today and let you know, but Im sure that is the detail.
I thought something was wrong, but wierd in two different machines made me kind of worry.
Thanks a lot once again
Gilfre
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5921
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:41 pm

x86 by default has disabled running check. RouterBoards has enabled running check.
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:24 pm

What was the reason for changing this on x86? Just wondering.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:47 am

If set to no, what the routerboard will do if the connection is fail?
i was thinking this possible can solve the ethernet halt issue or not.
 
helectro
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:24 am

If set to no, what the routerboard will do if the connection is fail?
i was thinking this possible can solve the ethernet halt issue or not.
Hi where put No the options is
/interface ethernet>
.. : blink disable enable find monitor reset-counters set
/ mirror comment edit export get print reset-mac
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:07 am

This is for x86 only, not for RouterBOARDs.
 
helectro
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:30 am

Thank Fewi
yes i have many x86 but i dont Know where put this comand wrote
in terminal interface ether and no see where??
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: Ethernet Interfaces show "R" running even with no cable

Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:58 pm

/interface ethernet

Unfortunately, this particular option is in the form of a double-negative.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests