Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
arpadffy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:52 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Beginner issues with RB750

Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:51 am

Hello,

I have recently purchased an RB750 in order to solve some 3WAN 1 LAN routing issues on a small but sensitive network environment.

I run 5.0rc7 and it shows that the RB has licence level 4 upgradeable to 6.x.

As a beginner to ROS, I have followed the excellent wiki documentation word by word, regardless I faced some major issues.

It was a piece of cake to set up the first WAN interface (that use DHCP)
The second WAN interface has a static IP (no problem at all), but the 3rd that use PPPoE does not work at all. The log shows a never ending initializing, dialing, terminating disconnected cycle.
Passwords are OK.Using the right interface...modem is connected and works with an another router.
...even the PPPoE Scan can not find any available server.

Also another issue is that can not get IPv6 6to4 tunnel working.
I have configured according to the HE's recommendation. The tunnel is fully functional from Linux router.
/interface 6to4 add comment="Hurricane Electric IPv6 Tunnel Broker" disabled=no local-address=83.251.66.185 mtu=1280 name=sit1 remote-address=64.71.128.82
/ipv6 route add comment="" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=2000::/3 gateway=2001:470:1F00:FFFF::6B0 scope=30 target-scope=10
/ipv6 address add address=2001:470:1F00:FFFF::6b1/64 advertise=yes disabled=no eui-64=no interface=sit1
I wonder, am I doing something very wrong or I have a licence related problem and those operations are not allowed with my licence or RB750 is not designed for this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Z
 
arpadffy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:52 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beginner issues with RB750

Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:04 am

Update.

by creating a new tunnel on HE's site... the ipv6 related issue is solved.
Do not ask me why, but it works perfect now... (indeed, it would be nice to have radvd functionality in the router)

Thank you.

Regards,
Z
 
arpadffy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:52 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beginner issues with RB750

Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:23 pm

...by the end of the day I was able to make PPPoE working.
I do not why, but it did not work on ether5, but the very same configuration on ether3 worked perfect.

I considered until now all five ports equal - but from now I will try not to use ether5 for other task but local switching.

Is this a right approach? Could anybody point me to some documentation about this issue?

Thank you.

Regards,
Z
 
arpadffy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:52 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beginner issues with RB750

Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:24 am

Thank you.

With RouterOS v5rc8 all my radvd related problems (and all others) are solved.

Regards,
Z
 
arpadffy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:52 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Beginner issues with RB750

Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:57 pm

Hello,
With RouterOS v5rc8 all my radvd related problems (and all others) are solved.
Unfortunately, I need to reopen this thread as with ROS v5.0 I again have problem with IPv6 (same configuration).

The IPv6 works perfectly from the router out to the Internet. can ping trace route works etc.

Within the LAN it works OK
[admin@MikroTik] > ipv6 route print detail
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, o - ospf, b - bgp, U - unreachable
 0 A S  dst-address=::/0 gateway=sit1 gateway-status=sit1 reachable distance=1 scope=30 target-scope=10

 1 A S  dst-address=2000::/3 gateway=sit1 gateway-status=sit1 reachable check-gateway=ping distance=1 scope=30 target-scope=10

 2 ADC  dst-address=2001:470:27:5b6::/64 gateway=sit1 gateway-status=sit1 reachable distance=0 scope=10
[admin@MikroTik] > ipv6 firewall filter print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
 0   chain=input action=accept protocol=icmpv6

 1   chain=input action=accept

 2   chain=forward action=accept
Ping out works in does not
[admin@MikroTik] > ipv6 firewall mangle print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
[admin@MikroTik] > ping 2001:470:27:5b6::1
HOST                                    SIZE  TTL TIME  STATUS
2001:470:27:5b6::1                      56    64  10ms  echo reply
2001:470:27:5b6::1                      56    64  7ms   echo reply
    sent=2 received=2 packet-loss=0% min-rtt=7ms avg-rtt=8ms max-rtt=10ms

[admin@MikroTik] > ping 2001:470:27:5b6::100
HOST                                    SIZE  TTL TIME  STATUS
2001:470:27:5b6::2                      104   64  270ms hop limit exceeded
2001:470:27:5b6::2                      104   64  291ms hop limit exceeded
    sent=2 received=0 packet-loss=100%
While LAN works perfect but towards the router
[zoli@redhat ~]$ ifconfig eth1
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0B:CD:27:FC:12
          inet addr:192.168.10.5  Bcast:192.168.10.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:27:5b6::400/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:27:5b6:20b:cdff:fe27:fc12/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::20b:cdff:fe27:fc12/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5985846 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5894329 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2052418166 (1.9 GiB)  TX bytes:3702223330 (3.4 GiB)

[zoli@redhat ~]$ ping6 -c 2 2001:470:27:5b6::400
PING 2001:470:27:5b6::400(2001:470:27:5b6::400) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2001:470:27:5b6::400: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
64 bytes from 2001:470:27:5b6::400: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.053 ms

--- 2001:470:27:5b6::400 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.048/0.050/0.053/0.007 ms
[zoli@redhat ~]$ ping6 -c 2 2001:470:27:5b6::100
PING 2001:470:27:5b6::100(2001:470:27:5b6::100) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2001:470:27:5b6::100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.316 ms
64 bytes from 2001:470:27:5b6::100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.340 ms

--- 2001:470:27:5b6::100 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.316/0.328/0.340/0.012 ms
[zoli@redhat ~]$ ping6 -c 2 2001:470:27:5b6::2
PING 2001:470:27:5b6::2(2001:470:27:5b6::2) 56 data bytes
From 2001:470:27:5b6::400 icmp_seq=1 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From 2001:470:27:5b6::400 icmp_seq=2 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable

--- 2001:470:27:5b6::2 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 0 received, +2 errors, 100% packet loss, time 3000ms
Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you.

Regards,
Z

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests