Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sw0rdf1sh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:16 pm

Adding a repeater to a hotspot interface

Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:44 pm

I would like to add a repeater (a have an existing tp-link ap) to a hotspot interface (ex wlan1 running on RB4433AH with only trial users).
I know this is a Mikrotik forum and this is not a proper question to ask but consider that I'm only asking about routeros settings and routerboard's compatibillity with other equipment.

My thinking is:
Make a bridge interface.
Adding WDS to wlan1 (dynamic with the above bridge).
Adding ap to access list in wireless interfaces with authentication and forward ticked.
Adding ap's mac to ip bindings in hotspot so that the ap doesn't need authentication.

Will this going to work?In ip hotspot active and hosts will I have the same mac (ap's mac) for all the users?Or am I going to have only one user in the ap end with the ap's mac in ip hotspot active list?

Other than that.I tend to use old hardware and this is a good oport. to do that in order to extend wireless area.
 
sw0rdf1sh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:16 pm

Re: Adding a repeater to a hotspot interface

Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:42 pm

I am sorry for the post.
I found the answer myself testing some settings.Problem is solved now.

For helping everyone else this is what I did.

In a RB433UAH which had originaly wlan1 as ap bridge running hotspot (RoS4.16) :
Added a bridge called bridge1
Added wlan1 port to bridge1
Changed dhcp server to run on bridge1
Changed hotspot server to run on bridge1
Added WDS to wireless interface wlan1 as dynamic and default bridge bridge1

In an old tp-link ap:
Used wireless : bridge with ap
Used same ssid,same channel,same subnet as wlan1,an ip from the pool of dhcp server different than wlan1,and default gateway the ip of wlan1, disabled dhcp.

I only have trial users.Meaning this is a free hotspot running just a terms and conditions at first but can be used also with radius.
Now every end user connecting through tp-link is showing up in /ip hotspot host and active with the correct user mac and not the same mac for every user (the tp-link's mac).

Of course a small routerboard would do the job better but it's a great deal for me not trashing old equipment and using it.
 
norenberg
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:26 am

Re: Adding a repeater to a hotspot interface

Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:58 am

Thank you very much, this sorted my problem as well!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 48 guests