Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
asuz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:36 pm

Hello all, I am very newbee at mikrotik. I have RB433UAH routerboard and need help about connection my existing network with wireless and distrubute it with ethernet. Here is the schema and scenario. My DHCP server gives static IP according to MAC addresses of devices. I set up DHCP server to give my routerboard wlan1 192.168.1.112 and I am trying to adjust routerboard gives internet by different IP group like as 192.168.88.x, how can I do that? NAT rules, RIP, DHCP Client... etc confused my mind. I read lots from http://wiki.mikrotik.com but it doesnot work. Can anybody help me about that with winbox ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Sun Apr 17, 2011 1:14 pm

1. Setup wlan1 (or whatever your wireless card is named) to connect up to the UBNT in station mode.
2. Add a DHCP client to the wlan1 interface (via ip -> dhcp-client)
3. Add an IP address to ether1 (or whatever you lan interface is named)
4. Add a DHCP server to your ether1 interface (via ip -> dhcp-server -> setup)
5. Make sure you have a src-nat rule for traffic heading out the wlan1 interface:

Eg:
/ip firewall nat chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan1 action=masquerade
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
asuz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:23 pm

1. Setup wlan1 (or whatever your wireless card is named) to connect up to the UBNT in station mode.
2. Add a DHCP client to the wlan1 interface (via ip -> dhcp-client)
3. Add an IP address to ether1 (or whatever you lan interface is named)
4. Add a DHCP server to your ether1 interface (via ip -> dhcp-server -> setup)
5. Make sure you have a src-nat rule for traffic heading out the wlan1 interface:

Eg:
/ip firewall nat chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan1 action=masquerade
I see that my wlan1 connect to UBNT (my dhcp server) from its interface but I don't have internet behind routerboard, where should I look for to solve that ?

And I also "/ip firewall nat chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan1 action=masquerade" cannot be writen to terminal.It says "syntax error".What should I do ?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:43 pm

Sorry, I did it from memory and forgot the add command.
/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan1 action=masquerade
That rule would be what you need to get access behind the routerboard, it allows the router to perform translation of the addresses on traffic coming in the ethernet interfaces heading out the other network that the wireless is connected to (because the upstream router doesn't know about the lan network you have or how to route packets back to it).
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
asuz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:18 pm

Sorry, I did it from memory and forgot the add command.
/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan1 action=masquerade
That rule would be what you need to get access behind the routerboard, it allows the router to perform translation of the addresses on traffic coming in the ethernet interfaces heading out the other network that the wireless is connected to (because the upstream router doesn't know about the lan network you have or how to route packets back to it).
Thank you very much, I was about to give up Mikrotik and your answers about the logic of the Mikrotik in my mind slowly started to create hint. Thank you master.
 
asuz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Sun May 15, 2011 7:30 pm

Dear Sir, I add a wireless card to my routerboard so my routerboard has 2 wireless card. How can I use the last added wireless card as AP, I want to get internet from wlan1 and to send from wlan2. Can you help me ?
 
MRMISSY
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Mon May 16, 2011 12:57 am

either add new dhcp server on wlan 2 with natting
or make bridge , add both lan (ether1) and wlan 2 as port
and make the dhcp server on the bridge
after resting the configuration
 
asuz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: Newbee wireless and DHCP problem.

Mon May 16, 2011 6:48 pm

either add new dhcp server on wlan 2 with natting
or make bridge , add both lan (ether1) and wlan 2 as port
and make the dhcp server on the bridge
after resting the configuration
Thank you, I want to tell how to solve my problem for the people newbee like me.
1- I setup wlan2 at ap bridge mode
2- I add a DHCP server to my wlan2
3- I add a src-nat rule for traffic heading out the wlan2 interface as omega-00 sample above
/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat out-interface=wlan2 action=masquerade
Thanks for omega-00 & MRMISSY

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests