Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Big Problem with Loop in my network

Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:46 am

Hi all
I have big problem in my network "loop"
my users use router"TP-LINK" and when someone connect the internet cable in wrong port ,
its case loop in my network and stop all my Ap and server,
how i can prevent this its killing me :(
Please answer what i can do :( :(
Still learning .......
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Big Problem with Loop in my network

Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:04 am

Read and learn about spanning tree, and implement it in your network.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Big Problem with Loop in my network

Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:06 am

Read and learn about spanning tree, and implement it in your network.
I try it but nothing happen:(
Still learning .......
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Big Problem with Loop in my network

Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:08 am

Then you didn't do it right. If you had done it right spanning tree would have prevented loops from forming. That's what spanning tree does.

That said, you can also convert from a bridged network to a routed network.

Those are literally your only two options. Going to a routed network is going to be more work, but is also cleaner. Spanning tree will also solve the immediate issue.

It's impossible to be more specific without knowing your network inside out. If you can't do this yourself you should look at hiring a consultant. This affects your entire network, this is not something trivially solved in a forum post. If bridging loops take down your entire network then your entire network is - sorry to say - very poorly designed and needs to be looked at from the ground up.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Big Problem with Loop in my network

Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:19 am

okay thanks
Still learning .......

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests