Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wyrless
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:34 pm

Misunderstanding of static IP setup.

Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:51 pm

I've been reading some posts about static IP and they seem to be very close to what I'm looking for but there is a gap in my understanding. I'm hoping someone can help me here.
This post is very close to what I'm doing -> http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=30238&f=2

In his case, the static IP on the switch is OK (maybe he wanted the static IP on each router - I'm not sure)

However, my client needs his own static IP which he'll program his equipment with. I'm providing a tap off of ether5 on a RB450.

In the past I've just used a bridge so the static IP will reply to a ping. I don't think I can add a simple queue to a bridged port, right?

In this case, I'd like to add some bandwidth limiting so I have that port (ether5) setup as a routed network with DHCP (192.168.12.254/24). That way he can pick up a dynamic address and also have his static IP address that I've assigned. The problem is that I'm not able to get to the static IP that I assigned.

I've added a src-nat that works OK. I've added a static route for my static IP to forward requests to the static IP to ether5. I've also added a dst-nat that maps the static IP address to 192.168.12.254.

When I ping from inside winbox, I get a reply. I think this is the static route to ether5 because if I disable this, the ping stops. However, when I ping from outside, I don't get a reply. I do get a reply from the rb450 which I've assigned another static IP to - but that is assigned to the bridge which is all the other ethernet ports.

I'm misunderstanding something fundamental. Can someone help me "see the light"? Thanks.
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Misunderstanding of static IP setup.

Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:07 pm

I think you might be in slightly over your head. Check out the consultants list. Someone there will be able to help you.

http://www.mikrotik.com/consultants.html
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
User avatar
sadeghrafie
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:28 am
Location: Bushehr, IRAN

Re: Misunderstanding of static IP setup.

Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:17 pm

Wow!
Are you sure can any body help you with this long description and no network diagram, IP addresses, Firewall rules, interface list and etc.

There is two: Public & Private | Static & Dynamic.
each IP address can be the combination of one on these two.
The public is which we can access to Internet through it, but with private can't.

I think you are talking around NAT or need to add route for a static IP.
Mikrotik Route My Life

Someone Says: Don't forget to give karma
 
User avatar
bambangs2komputer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:22 pm
Location: Kota Malang-Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Misunderstanding of static IP setup.

Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:17 pm

I think description above IP is IP Private.
May be he want IP private for customer with DHCP and Static.
yes, you can do that but with two config like hotspot and PPPOE Server.
*You can check pppoe server at http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/PPPoE (you want static IP so without pool just set static ip in your /pppp a secret)
* with same interface set config hotsot at http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Hotspot
:-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests